Skip to main content


Published May 18. 2011 05:44PM

Four candidates competed for nomination to three open four-year terms on Jim Thorpe borough council.

According to unofficial tallies, Democrats Betsy Ahner had 553 votes; John T. McGuire got 533 votes and Joseph F. Krebs received 458 votes. There were also 88 Democratic write-in candidates.

Republican Louis M. Hall received 218 votes, and there were 54 Republican write-in candidates.

The names of the write-in candidates have yet to be released.

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


October 2017


Upcoming Events

Twitter Feed


Faith Alive UMC hosts ‘Revival on Purpose!’

40.804927, -75.656958

Faith Alive UMC, 678...

Pumpkin social in Tamaqua

40.7986307, -75.9683447

Zion Lutheran Church...

Feed the People hosts Halloween celebration

40.830215, -75.88356

Feed the People is h...

STEP-Up Tamaqua to meet Monday

40.798347, -75.970851

STEP-Up Tamaqua will...

Reader Photo Galleries