Log In

Reset Password

2 administrators leaving Jim Thorpe

A handful of personnel items approved by Jim Thorpe Area School District’s board of directors Wednesday night included the departure of two administrators.

The resignations came from Dr. Jeff White, L.B. Morris principal, and Orell Gaynor, director of technology.

White was promoted to L.B. Morris principal at the start of the 2021-22 school year at a salary of $90,000 following the departure of Shawn Albert. Prior to that, White spent two years as L.B.’s assistant principal.

He also taught first grade in the Philadelphia School District, sixth grade at the Lehigh Valley Dual Language Charter School, and third and seventh grade in the Allentown School District. White is an adjunct professor at DeSales University in the School of Education.

Gaynor, meanwhile, spent 15 years as a technology specialist before his promotion to director of technology in September 2022 at a salary of $75,000.

“We want to thank them and everyone who is retiring or moving on from the district,” Superintendent Robert Presley said. “This job is hard and they deserve accolades for all the time they have out into this district.”

The effective date of White and Gaynor’s resignations is to be determined.

Other personnel actions on Wednesday included the approval of Julianne Reightler as a second grade long-term substitute at the Penn Kidder Campus for the remainder of the 2023-24 school year, reassignment of Caitlin Thompson from her paraprofessional position to the high school life skills substitute teacher with a start date to be determined, resignation of special education teacher Wendy Greenwood, letter of intent to retire from Penn-Kidder teacher Sharon Engle, and letter of intent to retire from high school math teacher Suzanne Milkowich.