Wednesday, March 4, 2015
     

Poconos

Thursday, August 29, 2013

100th Eagle Scout

Boy Scout Troop 98 has met a milestone as the troop had its 100th Eagle Scout approved by the Pocono District Eagle Board. Boy Scout Dayne Coleman is the honoree. Stories of some of those 100 Eagle Scouts are part of the Troop 98's display at the West End Fair.

Prayer Shawl ministry

Effort UMC's Prayer Shawl Group will meet at 10:30 a.m., Tuesday, Sept. 3, to weave their give-away gifts to those who are hurting, whether due to illness, varieties of loss, or whatever the need may be.

Schools begin

Thursday, August 29, 2013

School open house

Pleasant Valley Intermediate School's fourth-grade open house will be Tuesday, Sept. 10 from 6-8 p.m.

PVI's fifth-grade open house will be Wednesday, Sept. 11, from 6-8 p.m.

PVI's sixth-grade open house will be Thursday, Sept. 12, from 6-8 p.m.

Safe Haven

Safe Haven Pet Rescue will hold an adoption day from 11 a.m.-3 p.m. on Sunday, Sept. 15, at Tractor Supply, Route 209, Brodheadsville. There will be many young dogs available. A pre-adoption application with references and a home visit before adoption are required.

Friday, August 23, 2013

Vesper service

The Pleasant Valley Ecumenical Network will hold a Vesper Service at the West End Fair on Sunday, Aug. 25 at 5 p.m. St. Matthew's UCC's Wanda Murphy Smith is this year's coordinator and several of its members will be participating in the service, which will include a skit "Sunday Dinner," and it will feature a blue grass band and a gospel singing group.

PVEN needs

Thursday, August 22, 2013

Township meeting

The Polk Township supervisors' meeting that was scheduled for Monday, Aug. 26 at 8 a.m. has been rescheduled to Thursday, Aug. 29 at 8 a.m. at the township municipal building.

Wednesday, August 21, 2013

Helping Community

In response to the recent Ross Township tragedy, a special West End Community health event will focus on helping the community. The event, organized by PMC Community Health Connections, will be held from 5:30 to 7 p.m., Thursday, Sept. 19 at the Western Pocono Community Library in Brodheadsville. Speakers will be from Pocono Medical Center and the community.

For more information or to reserve a spot at the event, email events@pmchealthsystem.org. Deadline to RSVP is Sept. 12.

Vets group begins

Friday, August 16, 2013

Chestnut Ridge Seniors

The Chestnut Ridge Seniors will meet on Thursday, Aug. 22 at 11 a.m. at the Kunkletown Volunteer Fire Co. Bring a bag lunch. There will be either entertainment or bingo.

Pies needed

The Kunkletown Picnic needs pies for the contest on Saturday, Aug. 17. Be sure to have pies at the picnic grove by 4:30 p.m.

They also need cakes, baked goods and other items for the Cake Walk before 6:30 p.m.

If you could donate items for the Kiddie Cake Walk and Fishing Pond, please see that they are there before 4 p.m.

Thursday, August 15, 2013

Salem Saint Paul's

Members of Salem Saint Paul's Lutheran Church will host a night of swimming and a movie on Friday, Aug. 16, at 7:30 p.m. at the home of Rob and Stacey Coleman, 213 Emily Way, Kunkletown. Bring a lawn chair or blanket. For more information or for directions call (610) 681-3799.

Wednesday, August 14, 2013

Help needed

The West End Fair 250th Anniversary Celebration Committee is seeking volunteer help for its table inside the West End Fair Committee Museum.

For more information, contact dajami86@epix.net.

Shuffleboard League

The fall shuffleboard league session at the American Legion in Gilbert was to start on Aug. 12 with sign-ups at the post. The play will be every Thursday, beginning at 6:30 p.m.

Zion's Seniors

The August meeting of Zion's Senior Citizens will be from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m., Thursday, Aug. 15, in the parish hall in Brodheadsville.

Friday, August 9, 2013

Ross Township

Eldred Township residents extend their most sincere sympathy and condolences to their neighbors, Ross Township and Chestnuthill Township for their losses and injuries suffered on Monday night. Stay Strong.

PVEN needs

Pleasant Valley Ecumenical Network (PVEN) is asking St. Matthew's UCC's help for specific food needs of cereal and peanut butter. Of course they will accept any and all other donations.

PVEN has also asked for donations of pencils, notebook paper, pens, composition books and back packs for children in need to go back to school.

Thursday, August 8, 2013

Safe Haven Pet Rescue

Safe Haven Pet Rescue will have a volunteer meeting on Tuesday, Aug. 21, at 6:30 p.m. at Cherry's Family Restaurant, Route 209 near Route 534, Kresgeville.