Friday, July 31, 2015
     

Jim Thorpe

Monday, October 29, 2012

The Sunday School children of St. John's Lutheran Church, South Avenue, held their annual Halloween party on Sunday evening. Prizes were awarded to the following children: prettiest, Erin McArdle; ugliest/spookiest, Kaia Shiner; funniest, Colton Steigerwalt; Judges' choices, Kaitlyn Strohl and Tyler Adamitis.

Following the costume parade, the children participated in various games and refreshments.

Local author to hold book launch

Thursday, October 18, 2012

The office of Jim Thorpe Tax Collector Terry McElmoyle will be closed Saturday, Oct. 20. It will reopen on Monday, Oct. 22.

Tuesday, October 16, 2012

The Jim Thorpe Fire Department is once again offering the residents of Jim Thorpe free smoke detectors for their homes. Please feel free to contact Bill Diehm, fire chief, at (570) 325-3890 or any other fire officer. Please no commercial businesses.

Bloodmobile

The American Red Cross Bloodmobile will be at Memorial Hall on Wednesday, Oct. 17, from 1-6 p.m. Donors should be 17 years of age and older.

Wednesday, October 3, 2012

Author to sign books in Jim Thorpe

M. Digioia Bogin, author of "Sons of Light" will be at the Dimmick Friends Book Sale on Saturday, Oct. 6 from noon to 4 p.m. She will do a meet a greet and will sign copies of her new book.

Tuesday, September 25, 2012

Lions Club Flag

Project continues

The Jim Thorpe Lions Club has received many donations to support the ongoing replacement of American flags around the borough. Donations are still being accepted to help fund the project and ensure the purchase of new flags and the proper replacement of old flags. Please send donations to "American Flag Project," c/o Jim Thorpe Lions Club, P.O. Box 108, Jim Thorpe, PA 18229.

Halloween parade

has a new date

Wednesday, September 19, 2012

Christian Education Sunday, will be observed on Sunday, Sept. 23, during the 10:30 a.m. worship service at St. John's Lutheran Church, South Avenue. The students will be making a wide variety of Christian symbols during Sunday School. Youth members of the church, who attended the Youth Gathering in New Orleans, in July will share some stories of their trip.

A children's time will also be given by Pastor Muhr. He will then install all the Sunday School teachers and helpers.

Community dinner

Monday, September 10, 2012

The Women's Ecumenical Bible study group will meet at 6:30 p.m. Wednesday, Sept. 12 in the Good Shepherd Room of St. John's Lutheran Church, South Avenue in Jim Thorpe.

All women of the community are invited to attend. This year the group will be studying the book of Acts, under the direction of Mrs. Joan DeAcetis.

Local author appears at Dimmick Friends event on Saturday

Wednesday, August 29, 2012

Penn Forest Township Municipal Building, located at 2010 State Route 903, Jim Thorpe, will be closed Monday, Sept. 3 for Labor Day, however, the Transfer Station will be open from 8 a.m. until 4 p.m.

The municipal building will also be closed on Wednesday through Friday, Sept. 5-7 for staff training. The building inspector's office hours will be Tuesday, Sept. 4, from 8 a.m. to 11 a.m. and the zoning officer's office hours will be Tuesday, Sept. 4, from 1-4 p.m.

Friday, August 17, 2012

The Jim Thorpe High School football team will have a scrimmage at 10 a.m. Saturday, Aug. 18, at the home field. The team will also have home field advantage for another scrimmage on Thursday, Aug. 23, at 7 p.m.

Bloodmobile

The American Red Cross Bloodmobile will be at Memorial Hall on Wednesday, Aug. 22, from 1-6 p.m. Donors should be at least 17 years of age.

Book signing

Local Christian author and baker Jessica Miller-Epps will be at Dimmick Friends House for a book signing.

Monday, August 13, 2012

Reunion committee meeting scheduled

The Jim Thorpe High School alumni reunion committee will meet on Tuesday, Aug. 14, at 6:30 p.m. in the administration building of the school district on Center Avenue.

The meeting will take place in the second floor conference room.

All phases of the reunion will be confirmed at the meeting.

Dimmick Friends House book signing

"Finding God in the Kitchen" is the new book by author and baker Jessica Miller-Epps.