Skip to main content

Africa's Big Five

Published January 21. 2011 05:00PM

The Big Five is a term commonly associated with African safaris.

The term refers to the African lion, leopard, rhino, elephant and Cape Buffalo.

It doesn't include the hippo, gorilla or giraffe, nor the cheetah.

The term came about when big game hunters rated the difficulty in taking down large, fierce animals.

(The Cape Buffalo is arguably considered the most dangerous of the Big Five).

Today, the term is used by tour operators when marketing safaris.

Similarly the old-time term of "white hunter" has been replaced by "professional hunter."

According to Nhoro Safaris, the most important determining factor in the success of a safari is the professional hunter, who accompanies a safari participant and whose skill and experience is counted on to make sure the safari enthusiast is safe. His companionship and dedication contributes to the overall enjoyment of the experience.

The professional hunter is experienced in the pursuit of Africa's mammals.

He recognizes that each animal is unique in its habits and behavior. Experience and respect are the most important factors when pursuing the various species.

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


October 2017


Upcoming Events

Twitter Feed


Bombers get creative with parade floats

40.8014826, -75.6101867

Some of Palmerton’...

Man faces charges for shooting his dog

40.8014826, -75.6101867

Charges have been...

Extension hosts annual dinner

40.7986942, -75.8104747

The Carbon County Ex...

Reader Photo Galleries