Both Walnutport and Slatington borough councils held their 2014 reorganization meetings Monday night at their respective borough halls.

During Walnutport's special meeting of the council, and with about two dozen spectators in attendance, Magisterial District Judge Robert Hawke swore in elected borough council members and newly elected Walnutport Mayor Wayne Weidner.

Weidner, who ran unopposed, has served as Walnutport's mayor in the past and replaces mayor Henry Kline, who retired at the end of 2013 after 40 years of public service.

Winners of the four four-year terms on council were incumbents Harold C. Greene, Joan Rehrig and William J. Turk plus newcomer Patrice D. Hunsicker.

At the meeting, newly re-elected council President Matthew Newhard asked council members who they would like to appoint to fill a two-year vacancy on council. He said the position had been advertised and three letters of intent had been received.

Council chose former Councilman David Stankovic, who lost his re-election bid last November, to the two-year term.

In other news, Michael Gaston was elected as the vice president and William Turk was elected as the president pro tem.

Meanwhile in Slatington, Mayor Walter Niedermeyer was sworn in for another four-year term after having been re-elected during a race last November against Ricky A. Blose.

In addition, the borough council incumbents who won re-election for four-year terms and were sworn in included Bryon C. Reed, Jon W. Rinker and Daniel L. Stevens.

During that meeting, Stevens was once again chosen as the borough council president while Gwyneth Neff accepted an appointment as vice president after former Vice President Reed declined his nomination for the position.

Reed did, however, accept the position of president pro tem.