A Lehighton firefighter was selected as Firefighter of the Year by his peers.

Martin Spezialetti of Lehighton Fire Department was presented a plaque to honor him for his dedication and service by Harry Wynn III, past commander of the Lehighton Veterans of Foreign Wars (VFW) Post 256; and Fred Schaffer, quartermaster. The plaque was sponsored by the Lehighton VFW Post 256.

Spezialetti has been a firefighter for Lehighton Fire Department since 2005.

"Thank you," said Spezialetti. "I couldn't find a greater bunch of guys to work with. They always stand by you."

Spezialetti has a wife, Lori, and three children, James, Jessica and Joseph.

This is the 14th year that the Lehighton VFW has honored a Firefighter of the Year.

As Wynn prepared to present the plaque, he recognized all 13 previous recipients. They are: Larry Diehl, Rodney Rehnert, Gary Frable, Michael Mriss, Wayne E. Nothstein, Dave Oswald, Jim Hauser, Paul Mriss, Steve Ebbert, Chris Ritter, Scott Nothstein, Patrick Mriss and John Kuller.

Wynn then thanked the fire department for its service and dedication to the community.

"I appreciate what you all do for the community," said Wynn. "I know that your services are important."