Log In

Reset Password

Lehighton Area High School announces senior awards

Lehighton Area High School recently held its senior academic awards.

“All of our recipients submitted applications which were thoroughly vetted by our scholarship committee and additionally some completed small group interviews to be considered for awards,” said Suzanne Howland, principal. “Faculty members serving on the scholarship committee, as well as community groups selected the student honorees using an approach that considered the whole student. Just a few of the criteria used in the selection process included grades, recommendations, character assessment, essays and community service. The students that have been selected represent the many diverse talents and strengths of the Lehighton Area High School senior class. These honorees are the personification of Tribe Pride.”

Noah Barndt: Diaz Family Award, Andy Knappenberger Scholarship, L.E.A.F. Scholarship

Adam Bastone: Dowd Foundation Scholarship, Damian Mele Scholarship, LAMS PTO Award, Orioles Nest #183 Scholarship, Edward & Phyllis Brown Scholarship, L.E.A.F. Scholarship

Abby Bauder: Loretta Q Bimler Award, LVHN Scholarship, Times News Journalism Award, Gachtin Bamil Award, Lehighton Rotary Scholarship, LAEC Faculty & Staff Scholarship

Synceray Behler-Hoffman: D & P Hawk Scholarship, Fisher Insurance Award, Orioles Nest #183 Scholarship

Madyson Bergdahl: St Lukes Lehighton Campus Scholarship, Leon Kunkle Scholarship, Matthew Depue Band Scholarship

Maddyx Bergdahl: Marion V. Decker Award, Class of 1928 Leni Award

Ciara Berhel: Dr. Roland Wotring Scholarship, Bowmanstown Parryville Lions Award, Class of 64 Spirit Scholarship, Emma Krout Award, LAMS PTO Award, Hunter Meckes Scholarship, Orioles Nest #183 Scholarship

Carter Birnbaum: Andy Knappenberger Scholarship

Natalie Blair: Bausch & Lomb Award, Dwight Eisenhower Award

Michael Bowman: Gavin Krum Scholarship Eugene Flicker Scholarship

Gabriella Brown: L.A.E.A. Scholarship, L.E.A.F. Scholarship, LAEC Faculty & Staff Scholarship

Elizabeth Buffington: Walters Hammers Scholarship, Lehighton, Area Educational Support Trade, Mamie Lynaugh Scholarship, LVHN Scholarship, USMC Semper Fidelis Award

Amanda Burns: Coal Cracker Scholarship, Rosanne Reed Memorial Scholarship, Marion V. Decker Award

Marlee Craig: Conarty/Hodel Scholarship, Earl Koons Scholarship

Robert Dwojewski: Dylan Krum Scholarship, Earl Koons Scholarship, Student Council Award

Gianna Failla: FBLA Scholarship, Blauch Scholarship

Madison Freeby

Abygail Grayson Frey: Blauch Scholarship, Class of 1957 Scholarship, L.E.A.F. Scholarship

Luke Gallagher: Blauch Scholarship

Chloe Gustafson: Walters Hammers Scholarship, Ronald Hlavaty Scholarship, Gachtin Bamil Award, LAEC Faculty & Staff Scholarship, USMC Distinguished Athlete Award

Jacob Hall: D & P Hawk Scholarship, Lehighton Class 1965 Scholarship, Hunter Meckes Scholarship, LAEC Faculty & Staff Scholarship

Cooper Hartsell: Gregory “Segal” Ebbert Scholarship, Lehighton Touchdown Club Scholarship

Nicholas Hawk: AMVETS Scholarship

Olivia Hoffman: Diaz Family Award Earl Koons Scholarship

Alexander Hoffman: Paul & Linn Smith Music Award

Avery Hosler: Lehighton Rotary Scholarship, Andreas Heating & Plumbing Scholarship, Lehighton Area Lions/Lioness Award, Valley Royale Scholarship, Robert Balliet Music Scholarship, Orioles Nest #183 Scholarship

Ava Kistner: Franklin Twp Lions Club Scholarship, Fraternal Order of Police

Kathleen Lindenmoyer: Kreiger Award

Jude Litts: Kris Gasker Memorial Award, Earl Koons Scholarship, Dr. Roland Wotring Scholarship

Pauline Mahugi: William & Sadie Long Scholarship

Charli McHugh: Lehighton Athletic Booster Club Basketball, Blauch Scholarship, National Art Honor Society Scholarship

Dylan Moyer: Major General & Mrs. Bert A. David Award, Lehighton Touchdown Club Scholarship

Adrian Munoz: Lehighton Area Educational Support Academic Award

Brady O’Donnell: Earl Koons Scholarship, Leon Kunkle Scholarship, Lehighton Touchdown Club Scholarship

Maggie Pagotto: Coal Cracker Scholarship

Hannah Rex: Class of 1943 Scholarship, Statewide Tax Recovery Scholarship

Adam Sebelin: Walters Hammers Scholarship, Edward W & Phyllis Brown Scholarship, Michael Heery Rotary Scholarship

Owen Serfass: Walters Hammers Scholarship, Lehighton Athletic Booster Club Basketball, Class of 2002 Scholarship, LAEC Faculty & Staff Scholarship, USMC Distinguished Athlete Award

Elizabeth Troutman: USMC Scholastic Excellence Award

Mallory Valentine: St. Luke’s Auxiliary Award, Jean Everett Nursing Scholarship, National Art Honor Society Scholarship, Lehighton Area Lions /Lioness Award, LVHN Scholarship

Ryleigh Walker: Dowd Foundation Scholarship, LCCC Foundation Scholarship

Isabel Warner: Bruce Wolfe Firefighter Scholarship, Gregory “Segal” Ebbert Scholarship, LAEC Faculty & Staff Scholarship

Jayden Weitknecht: LHS Faculty Award, Earl Koons Scholarship

Koy Wentz: Harry & Doris Hutchinson Scholarship, Bo Tkach Scholarship, LVHN Scholarship, Class of 1957 Scholarship, USMC Scholastic Excellence Award, Good Citizenship Award

Peter “Keegan” Wyshosky: Blauch Scholarship

Jackson Zacharias: USMC Semper Fidelis Award, Good Citizenship Award

Iris Zheng: Susan Hill Scholarship, Blauch Scholarship, LAEC Faculty & Staff Scholarship, The Hill Family Scholarship

“Lehighton Area High School would like to extend our deepest gratitude to those who have generously contributed, year after year to our scholarship programs,” Howland said. “We greatly appreciate all of the new scholarship opportunities that have been made available such as the memorial scholarships in memory of Eric Christman, RoseAnn Reed, and Bruce Wolfe. These scholarships highlight how our community supports and recognizes outstanding academic achievement and leadership in our students. The monetary gifts received today will help our LAHS students achieve their goals of postsecondary education at the school of their choice. The scholarships will not only relieve some of the financial burdens associated with post secondary education, but will also serve to publicly recognize the student’s efforts and their overall excellence as individuals in our school and community. All of the benefits are equally important.”