Skip to main content

Franklin Township reorganizes, seats new township supervisor

  • Gail Maholick/TIMES NEWS Franklin Township supervisors reorganized, seating a new supervisor, Robin Cressley. From left are Rod Green, chairman, Cressley; and Paul Kocher, vice chairman.
    Gail Maholick/TIMES NEWS Franklin Township supervisors reorganized, seating a new supervisor, Robin Cressley. From left are Rod Green, chairman, Cressley; and Paul Kocher, vice chairman.
Published January 07. 2014 05:00PM

Franklin Township supervisors reorganized for 2014 on Monday afternoon.

Renamed chairman was Rod Green and Paul Kocher will also remain as vice chairman. Green and Kocher welcomed Robin Cressley to the board. Cressley, the township's present roadmaster, won the seat for supervisor in the November election beating out Byron Long. Long came to the board when he was asked to fill in for Larry Smith, who had resigned for health reasons.

Brenda Neeb was named secretary-treasurer and Christine Green will continue as assistant secretary-treasurer.

Supervisors voted to give all employees a 2 percent increase in wages.

The board also set the travel allowance rate at 56 cents a mile.

Attorney William Schwab was reappointed as the township solicitor, while Attorney Jenny Cheng was reappointed as the solicitor for the Zoning Hearing Board.

Carl Faust of Blue Mountain Inspection Services was reappointed zoning officer, BOCA Property Maintenance Code Enforcement Officer, Uniform Construction Code officer and Assistant BOCA Property Maintenance Code Enforcement Officer.

Sean Corey of CodeMaster Inspection Services was renamed Sewage Enforcement Officer, while Scott Bieber was reappointed alternate Sewage Enforcement Officer. ARRO Consulting Inc. was reappointed township engineer for sewage.

Ron Tirpak was reappointed the township engineer for general purposes.

Larry Diehl will continue as the township's Emergency Management Coordinator.

Charles Fritz will also continue as the Vacancy Board member.

Matthew Neeb was reappointed for a five-year term as a member of the Planning Commission.

Kim DePue was reappointed for a three-year term as a member of the Zoning Hearing Board.

Willard Ahner, Dr. John DeMatte, Vince Gilotti and Gail Maholick were reappointed to the Property Maintenance Appeals Board for a two-year term.

Thomas Beltz was reappointed police chief and open records officer for the Franklin Township Police Department. He was also reappointed as a member of the Franklin Township Advisory Recreation and Parks Board.

Brenda Neeb was reappointed Open Records Officer and Christine Green also was reappointed as Alternate Open Records Officer for the Administrative office.

Paul Kocher and Brenda Neeb were reappointed as representatives to the Carbon County Tax Committee. Kocher is the representative and Neeb is the alternate.

Rod Green was reappointed to the Carbon County Solid Waste Advisory committee.

Dennis Bauchspies was reappointed to the Lehigh Canal Recreation Commission.

Robin Cressley was reappointed as road master and road foreman.

Rod Green was renamed Chief Administrative Official for Non-Uniformed Pension Plan and the Police Pension Plan.

Robin Cressley was appointed the delegate of the Pennsylvania State Association of Township Supervisors Annual Educational Conference to be held April 13 to April 16 in Hershey.

Jim Thorpe National Bank and PLGIT were retained for checking and savings accounts.

The treasurer's bond was set at $500,000. Also $500,000 was set as the limit for bond for the board of supervisors as trustees for/of the Franklin Township Police Pension Plan.

Supervisors will meet at 6:30 p.m. the third Tuesday of each month. The only change will be in January when the board will meet the first Monday in 2015.

The board also approved a resolution to appoint Buckno Lisicky and Co. as auditors to replace elected auditors.

The board also adopted a resolution to use escalator clause for bituminous materials and petroleum products purchases in the coming year.

Also appointed by resolution Kenneth Cahill and Kevin Strunk as alternate members of the Zoning Hearing Board for a three-year term.

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


October 2017


Twitter Feed

Reader Photo Galleries