Skip to main content

Schuylkill election preview: Not many local races

Published May 13. 2011 05:00PM

Voters going to the polls on Tuesday, May 17, for the Primary Election will not have many choices, despite the fact that this is a local election year with borough council, township supervisor and school board seats up for nomination.

Party nominations will be decided for both the Democratic and Republican parties, but there are not a lot of battles for those nominations to local government.

Following is a rundown for area boroughs and townships.


There are four, four-year seats up for election to the borough council. Incumbent Republicans Thomas Cara, Brian Connely, Kenneth Smulligan and Stephen Tertel are seeking re-election and are the only names on the ballot. However, Tertel recently announced he was leaving the council because he is relocating out of the area. His resignation from council is effective today.

Tertel's name remains on the ballot and if he is successful, he will have to notify the county election bureau that he declines the nomination. The Republican party will then be given an opportunity to submit a name in Tertel's place.

Richard M. Hadesty Jr. is seeking a six-year term for auditor and is the only candidate.


Like Tamaqua, Coalale also has four, four-year term seats up for election this year to council and there is a race.

Five Republicans seek the four nominations. They are Michael J. Doerr, Steve Tentylo, Nancy Lorchak, Thomas D. Keerans Sr. and Andrew E. Girard. The lone Democrat is Paul F. Coppie.

New Ringgold

There are three, four-year term, seats up for council with only two candidates, both Republicans. They are Elizabeth Baker Fry and Elena Hendricks.

New Philadelphia

In New Philadelphia there are three, four-year term, seats up on council with just three candidates, all Democrats. They are Mary L. Shanoskie, Edward J. Slane and Debra A. Smith-Sullivan.


In McAdoo, there are four, four-year term seats up for council. There is a race for the Republican nomination as six persons have filed.

The candidates are John A. Perhonitch, Mary A. Labert, Edward J. Bielen Sr., Daniel G. Borchick, William J. Slovik and Lisa A. Klemas.

On the Democratic side there are four candidates seeking the nod and will face the GOP winners in the fall. Thy are Marian DeBalko, Marla S. Furlani, Rose Ann Lutz and Rick Snyder.

Some of the area townships do have races for supervisor nominations. Here is a rundown.

Rush Township

There is a race for the GOP nod for a six-year term on the board of supervisors.

Incumbent Stephen W. Simchak is being challenged by Jeaninne Motroni. There are no Democrats running.

A six-year term auditor position is up for election for both parties. William D. Boyer is seeking the GOP nod and Robert J. Pitts, the Demo position.

Schuylkill Township

In Schuylkill Township there are six-year and four-year term supervisors seats up for election. The GOP hopeful for the six-year term is Charles A. Hosler, of Brockton, and four-year term, Christine Verdier, of MaryD. No Democrats have filed.

For the auditor, six-year term, one Democrat filed, Aggie Kane, of Tuscarora. There is no GOP candidate. There are two to be elected. Write-ins will probably decide the GOP nomination.

Walker Township

In Walker Township there is a six-year term seat for supervisor with only Republican incumbent Craig Wagner on the ballot. For the auditor, six-year term, one from each party, no candidates have filed.

West Penn Township

In West Penn Township a six-year term seat on the board of supervisors is up and there is a race for the Republican nomination. The hopefuls are David A. Zeigler and James G. Dean, both of Andreas. No Democrat filed.

There is also auditor positions, four and six-year terms, but no one filed for the posts.

Blythe Township

In Blythe Township one seat, six-year term, supervisor is up for election with only one candidate filing. Democrat Albert J. Lubinsky is seeking the nomination.

Auditor, six-year term, Democrat Theresa A. Hinchey is the only candidate.

Delano Township

In Delano Township a six-year term for supervisor is up and only one candidate, Democrat Jay Ryan of Barnesville. Auditor, six year term, lone candidate is Democrat Sharon Kuropatsky.

East Brunswick Township

In East Brunswick Township there is a race for the GOP nomination for a six-year term seat on the board of supervisors. The candidates are Harold Frye Jr. and Jeffrey Faust. No Democrats filed.

For auditor, two and four-year terms, no one filed.

Kline Township

In Kline Township there is a race for the Republican nomination for six-year term supervisor. The candidates are Nicholas Sanko and Linda Deganich. The winner will face Democrat Eugene Moisey, who is the only hopeful filed for his party.

Ryan Township

In Ryan Township David R. Morgan seeks the GOP nomination for a six-year term supervisors' seat with no Democrats filing. Auditor, is year term, David John D.J. Kurtz, seeks the GOP nod and is the only candidate.

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


October 2017


Twitter Feed

Reader Photo Galleries