Skip to main content

Republicans capture Tamaqua board seats

Published November 04. 2009 05:00PM

Republicans captured all four seats up for election for the Tamaqua Area School Board in Tuesday's election.

Incumbent Thomas Rottet had both nominations and got a total of 3,026 votes to lead all candiates. Mark Rother, who also had both nods, was second with 2,680 votes.

Winning the remaining two seats were Aaron R. Frantz with 2,431 votes and Bryan W. Miller 2,372. Losing out was Democrats Tracy A. Perry with 1,163 and Jeffrey Swinehart 918.

Here is a rundown of voting in other area school districts.

Mahanoy Area

Four to be elected with three candidates having both nominations. The vote totals were: Mary A. DiCasimirro led the way with a grant total of 1,905 votes followed by C. Sullivan Coleman 1,857, Julie J. Fazio 1,414 and Sharon Truskey 1,377.

In a two year race there were no candidates but 170 write-in votes cast. Write-in votes will be counted beginning Friday at the courthouse.

Blue Mountain

Blue Mountain has four seats to be elected and the race was actually decided in the primary when four candidates got both nominations. The vote totals were: Mary Jo Sandler Moss 3,058; Thomas Wehr 3,057, Gerald Ravitz 2,984 and Edward Guistwite Jr. 2,270.

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


October 2017


Twitter Feed

Reader Photo Galleries