Sunday, May 1, 2016

Local News

Friday, June 14, 2013
David J. Yelito

The district attorney of Schuylkill County has filed a petition in the county court seeking removal from office a member of the Coaldale Borough Council.

The action was started by District Attorney Karen Byrnes Noon versus David J. Yelito, of 202 W. Phillips St., who has served as a councilman in the borough.

In the Primary Election last May 21, Yelito won the nomination on the Republican ballot to seek re-election in the November General Election.

Friday, June 14, 2013

State Sen. David G. Argall has released his weekly report on legislative actions:

Ÿ The Senate approved legislation this week designed to make natural gas service available to more Pennsylvanians.

Friday, June 14, 2013

Homeowners in the Panther Valley School District were spared a property tax increase this year, but the relief may be short-lived.

The school board on Thursday adopted a $24.5 million budget that calls for no tax increase on the Carbon County side of the district, and a 0.02 mill increase in Coaldale, on the Schuylkill County side.

That keeps the tax rate at 55.690 mills on the Carbon County side, and increases it a smidgen, to 52.26 mills, in Coaldale.

Friday, June 14, 2013

Mahoning Township supervisors split in approving recommendations by the Mahoning Township Planning Commission with regard to a project by H&H Development, but in the end agreed to grant an extension until June 30, 2013 and a waiver for a flag lot, but denied an access lane for the lot.

The subdivision proposal is along Hemlock Drive. The developer is Nawal Hadeed. It was first proposed in 2004.

Friday, June 14, 2013
SPECIAL TO THE TIMES NEWS Lehighton Area School Board President Rocky Ahner speaks in the main rotunda of the Pennsylvania State Capitol in Harrisburg. He joined other local officials from across the Commonwealth, urging lawmakers to make investments in our schools, county health services, and infrastructure over new tax cuts.

Lehighton Area School Board President Rocky Ahner recently spoke again in the main rotunda of the Pennsylvania State Capitol in Harrisburg. He joined other local officials from across the Commonwealth with a unified message for state lawmakers - prioritize investments in our schools, county health services, and infrastructure over new tax cuts.

The event was organized by Better Choices for Pennsylvania. According to the group, years of state tax cuts have shifted more costs onto local communities and taxpayers.

Friday, June 14, 2013

Last week, Carbon County commissioners released financial information in defense of an increase in fees to use the county parking lot in downtown Jim Thorpe. The information broke down the costs associated with maintaining and operating the lot, as well as the train station and amenities in Josiah White Park, which is often visitors' first stop.

Commissioners released the details in response to receiving 61 letters, 25 of which were from Jim Thorpe business owners, protesting the increase.

Friday, June 14, 2013

It was a little over six years ago that the Rev. Robert Dressler arrived as pastor at St. Ann Catholic Church, Lansford, succeeding the Rt. Rev. Msgr. Thomas Hoban. Now it was Father Dressler saying his farewell to the parish "I have grown to love."

He was greeted and bid goodbye by members of the congregation and the many friends he made during his tenure. It was a tearful goodbye to someone to whom they have become quite attached.

Father Dressler leaves on Tuesday for his new assignment in our Lady Help of Christians Catholic Church, Allentown.

Thursday, June 13, 2013

The Carbon County Labor Chapter will hold a "listening session" for members and guests on Monday, June 17 at 6:30 p.m. at the Democratic Information Center located at 110 S. First St. (across from the Senior High Rise) in Lehighton. Refreshments will be served. Please note the earlier meeting time.

Thursday, June 13, 2013

The Kidder Township EAC held its monthly meeting Wednesday evening. The discussion centered on the recent spring workshop, which took place the second Saturday in May. It was the seventh annual event.

"The workshop was very successful," said council Chairman Frank Gilotti.

"We can't wait to come up with an even more exciting program for next year. We want to thank the community for their support and the presenters as well."

Thursday, June 13, 2013
Special to the TIMES NEWS Runners take off at the start of the 12th annual Blue Mountain Health System 5K Road Race/Walk.

They came out in full mass to compete in the largest foot race in Carbon County.

Step by step, 710 participants took part in the 12th Annual Blue Mountain Health System 5K Road Race-Walk & Kid's Fun Run in Palmerton.

The event was presented by the medical staff of the Blue Mountain Health System. All proceeds raised will benefit BMHS.

Each year, the event continues to flourish, according to Dr. Michael Martinez, M.D., F.A.C.S., who served as co-director.

The race results are as follows: