Monday, August 3, 2015
     

Poconos

Thursday, January 12, 2012

PV Intermediate School PTO

PVI PTO will be having its monthly meeting on Wednesday, Jan 18 at 4:15 p.m. in the all purpose room.

PV Elementary School PTO

PVE PTO will hold its monthly meeting Thursday, Jan 19 at 4 p.m. in the school cafeteria. All are welcome to attend.

Men's wild game dinner

Wednesday, January 11, 2012

Youth Famine

The Youth at Zion Lutheran Church in Brodheadsville held a 30-hour famine Jan. 7-8.

The funds they realized will be split, with 30 percent going to the Village of Hope Lazarus Project, 30 percent for Kids Against Hunger, and 40 percent to the Pleasant Valley Ecumenical Network.

Rotary speaker

The West End Rotary Club will welcome Sue Scarborough of the Stroudsburg YMCA as speaker on Thursday, Jan. 12, at the club's 7:30 a.m. breakfast meeting at the Western Pocono Community Library, Brodheadsville.

No January UMW

Thursday, January 5, 2012

PVI PTO

Pleasant Valley Intermediate PTO will be hosting a family bingo on Friday, Jan. 6 from 6:30-8:30 p.m. in the school cafeteria.

All PVI students and their families are welcome to attend.

Wednesday, January 4, 2012

Garden of Giving

The board of directors of the Garden of Giving has grown by two new members as of the Jan. 2 meeting. They are Kathleen A. Fisher of McMichaels and Noreen Gorka of Pocono Summit.

Anyone else interested in serving on this community outreach organization's board may gather more information at the Garden of Giving web site.

Lions board

Thursday, December 29, 2011

PVI PTO

The Pleasant Valley Intermediate School's PTO will be hosting a family bingo on Friday, Jan. 6, from 6:30-8:30 p.m., in the school's cafeteria.

All PVI students and their families are invited to attend.

Wednesday, December 28, 2011

Mass schedule

Our Lady Queen of Peace Church has announced the following concerning the Mass schedule for The Solemnity of Mary, The Holy Mother of God. Mass will be held Saturday, Dec. 31, at 5 p.m., and Sunday, Jan. 1, at 8 and 10:30 a.m. and at noon.

The church office will be closed on Friday, Jan. 6.

Chestnuthill PTO

The Chestnuthill School PTO is slated to meet on Tuesday, Jan. 3.

UW Agency

Friday, December 23, 2011

St. Matthew's Christmas services

St. Matthew's UCC invites everyone to its Christmas Eve Family Service on Saturday, Dec. 24 at 7:30 p.m.

This is when the Children's Sunday School Program is held. This year it will be a little different. Instead of a "live" presentation, the program is in the form of a movie titled "A Day in a Manger." The class made it with the help of Bruce Harrison Smith and it will be shown during the 7:30 p.m. service.

There will also be a Christmas Eve Candlelight Service at 10:30 p.m.

Christmas morning, there will be a service at 9 a.m.

Wednesday, December 21, 2011

Monroe Seniors

Monroe County Seniors will meet on Friday, Dec. 23, at Zion Lutheran Church in Brodheadsville. However, the church office will be closed that day.

The group will also meet on Dec. 28 and Dec. 30. Meetings begin at 9 a.m.

Three services

Zion Lutheran Church will hold three worship services on Dec. 24, Christmas Eve. Times are 3:30 p.m., 7:30 p.m. and 10 p.m. All are candlelight services.

There will only be one service on Sunday, Dec. 25, Christmas Day at 10 a.m.

Candidate for ministry

Friday, December 16, 2011

PVI school chorus

On Monday, Dec. 19 the fifth-grade chorus at Pleasant Valley Intermediate School chorus will perform in the school gym at 7:30 p.m.

On Wednesday, Dec. 21 the seventh-grade chorus will perform at 7:30 p.m. in the school gym.

All are welcome to attend.

Polk PTO meeting

The monthly PTO meeting will be on Thursday, Dec 22 at 4 p.m. in the library.

Parents of Polk students are welcome to attend.

Friday, December 16, 2011

Supply pastor

St. Matthew's supply pastor for 9 a.m. worship service will be the Rev. John Dech.

Christmas Cantata

At 7:30 p.m. on Friday, Dec. 16, St. Matthew's UCC will present the cantata "Voices of Christmas," performed by members of the choirs of St. Matthew's, Effort UMC and Our Lady Queen of Peace under the direction of Dan Smale.

Additional performances will take place at 7:30 p.m. Saturday, Dec. 17 at Effort UMC at 7:30 p.m.; and Sunday, Dec. 18 at Our Lady Queen of Peace at 4 p.m.

PVEN's needs