Charles Koons, a life member of the Aquashicola Volunteer Fire Company and a director for the past decade, was the recipient of the department's highest award during a banquet. Koons was presented with the Warren E. Furry Memorial Award during a dinner program held at the Sunset Diner in Kresgeville. The presentation was made by Bill George, fire company president. About 55 people attended the event. The recipient is selected by members of the fire department.