Log In

Reset Password

McGinley is new Jim Thorpe board president

A veteran director and a newcomer will lead Jim Thorpe Area School District’s board of directors in 2024.

During a brief reorganization meeting Wednesday night, the board appointed Dennis McGinley as its president and Mary Figura as vice-president.

McGinley was named president in a 6-2 vote after he and Gerald Strubinger were nominated for the role. McGinley abstained from the vote, but he was supported by Figura, Pearl Sheckler, Michele Mazzola, Christopher Fischi, Michelle Banks and Glenn Confer. Strubinger and Richard Flacco cast no votes.

Figura, a lifelong Jim Thorpe resident who will be serving her first term in office, was unanimously chosen as vice-president.

Jim Thorpe Area School District's board of directors voted Dennis McGinley as its president for 2024 and Mary Figura as vice president during a reorganization meeting Wednesday. Back row, from left: Superintendent Robert Presley, Michelle Banks, Glenn Confer, Richard Flacco, Michele Mazzola, Pearl Sheckler and Business Manager Brian Off. Front row, from left: Christopher Fischi, Gerald Strubinger, McGinley and Figura. JARRAD HEDES/TIMES NEWS