Log In

Reset Password

Low turnout in precincts

With over 6,600 absentee and/or mail-in ballots still to be counted from Tuesday’s primary election in Carbon County, election officials are only able to provide a snapshot of the preliminary results in which there were no significant races.

Unofficial totals reported this morning by the county’s election officials show only 7,109 registered voters between the two parties - Republican and Democratic - votes at the precincts Tuesday, representing a mere 18.93 percent of the 37,546 people who were eligible.

How Carbon voted:

President - Republican: Donald J. Trump 4,643, Bill Weld 65, Roque “Rocky” De La Fuente 36; Democratic: Joe Biden 1,371, Bernie Sanders 435, Tulsi Gabbard 145.

PA Attorney General - Republican: Heather Heidelbaugh 4,198; Democratic: Josh Shapiro 1,898.

PA Auditor General - Republican: Timothy DeFoor 4,134; Democratic: Rose “Rosie” Marie Davis 552, Nina Ahmad 396, Michael Lamb 368, Christina M. Hartman 358, H. Scott Conklin 193, Tracie Fountain 104.

PA Treasurer - Republican: Stacy L. Garrity 4,152; Democratic: Joseph Torsella 1,823.

U.S. Congress, 9th District - Republican: Dan Meuser 4,351; Democratic: Laura Quick 1,055; Gary Wegman 826.

PA General Assembly, 122nd District - Republican: Doyle Heffley 4,390. There were 322 write-in votes on the Democratic side that will need to be addressed by the election’s office.

PA General Assembly, 124th District - Republican: Jerry Knowles 176; Democratic: Tyler Picone 162 (Summit Hill is the only Carbon County municipality in the district).

Delegate to Democratic National Convention: Leanne Burchik 1,204, Liz Bettinger 1,196, Vince DeMelfi 1,047, Catherine Mahon 743, Jim Safford 632, Phila Back 464.

Delegate to the Republican National Convention: Rochelle Marie Pasquarielle 2,361, Andrew Shecktor 1,239, George Halcovage 1,136, John K. Reber Sr. 1,039, Donna Lea Merritt 945, Janine Penman 932, Carolyn L. Bonkoski 847, David J. McElwee 780, Steven Michael Wolfe 701, Elle Rulavage 423.

Alternate Delegate to Republican National Convention: Donna Lea Merritt 2,624, Eugene Z. Bonkoski 2,607, John Cusatis 2,580.