Skip to main content

Voters elect Franklin supervisor, Mahoning tax collector

  • Robin D. Cressley
    Robin D. Cressley
Published November 06. 2013 05:01PM

Voters in Franklin Township selected a new supervisor while those in Mahoning Township decided who will be the township's new tax collector in General Election balloting on Tuesday.

Lehighton voters, meanwhile, voted for changes on the borough council and, in other balloting, a contest was decided for seats on the Lehighton Area School District Board of Education.

Otherwise, there were no contested races in East Penn Township nor Parryville or Weissport boroughs.

Franklin Township

An appointed candidate seeking his first elected term of office on the Franklin Township Board of Supervisors went down in defeat yesterday.

Democrat Byron K. Long lost the race for a six-year term to Republican Robin D. Cressley. The count was 415 to 193. Long had been appointed to the seat to fill the unexpired term of the late Larry Smith.

Tax Collector Sara J. Keiser, a Democrat, was unopposed in pursuit of another four-year term. She received 599 complimentary votes.

Township voters were also slated to elect one person to serve on the board of auditors for a six-year term. There were no candidates for the position, although the position is subject to nine write-in votes that were received in that balloting.

Mahoning Township

Democrat Pauline Homm will be Mahoning Township's new tax collector.

Homm, who defeated incumbent Richard Swarchek and a third candidate in the Primary Election, outdistanced Republican Todd Koller yesterday by a margin of 399 to 230 to win a four-year term of office.

Meanwhile, two candidates running for six-year terms on the board of supervisors were unopposed. Incumbent John Wieczorek, a Democrat, received 386 token votes while Shawn Haggerty followed with 357 "comps." Haggerty was selected to fill the ballot position upon the death of James Holland, who won the position in the May primary election.

Township voters were also slated to elect one person to serve on the board of auditors for a six-year term. There were no candidates for the position although 10 write-in votes will determine who wins the post.


Newcomer Helen Torok, a Democrat whose name appeared on both ballots in yesterday's election for three four-year terms on the Lehighton Borough Council, was the top vote-getter in the balloting.

Torok won one of the seats with 386 votes while incumbent Scott T. Rehrig and newcomer Joseph Flickinger, both Democrats, won the other seats. Rehrig finished second with 375 votes while Flickinger followed with 355.

Losing out were two incumbent Republicans, including John Wayne Bird and George Kogut. They were fourth and fifth, respectively, in the balloting with 259 and 254 votes in that order.

The town's new mayor will be Thomas Mase, the former chief of police in Jim Thorpe who will succeed Mayor Donald Rehrig, who opted to not seek re-election. Mase received sufficient write-in votes on both the Democratic and Republican tickets in May and was unopposed yesterday, collecting 530 token votes.

Tax Collector Mary E. Strohl, a Republican, was unopposed as she sought another four-year term. She collected 566 complimentary votes.

LASD board

Voters in the Lehighton Area School District selected four out of five candidates for four-year terms on the school board yesterday.

Three of the candidates, Stephen L. Holland and Gloria J. Bowman, both newcomers, and incumbent Hal P. Resh appeared on both ballots.

Holland was the top vote-recipient with 1,632 votes, followed by Bowman with 1,579 and Resh with 1,533.

The fourth position on the board came down to incumbent Republican William J. Hill Jr. and Democrat Lori S. Nothstein, with Hill retaining his seat by a margin of 1,405 to 1,259.

The district includes the boroughs of Lehighton, Parryville and Weissport and the townships of East Penn, Franklin and Mahoning.


There were no contested races in Parryville Borough on Tuesday.

Incumbent Mayor Dean A. Emrey, a Republican, ran unopposed for re-election to another four-year term and received 55 token votes.

The voters were also scheduled to elect three council members to four-year terms. There were only two candidates, including incumbents Cathy Hawk and Jennifer Emrey, both Republicans. They received 61 and 47 votes, respectively.

A third council person, Jennifer Borger, did not seek re-election, nor did Tax Collector Penny Szoke. Both are for four-year terms.

There were 52 write-in votes for the tax collector's position which will decide the new officeholder. Also, 34 write-in votes will determine the third council position.


There were no contested races in Weissport Borough on Tuesday.

Voters were slated to elect three four-year terms on the town council. There were only two candidates, including incumbent Republican Gene Kershner, who received 33 votes, and Democrat Paulette L. Watson, who folled with 30 votes. There were 27 write-in votes that will be calculated to determine the winner of the third position on the board.

Mayor Jonathan Glenn Troutman, a Democrat, ran for re-election to another four-year term. He was unopposed and received 31 token votes. That was also the case of Tax Collector Theresa Troutman. A Democrat running for re-election to a four-year term without opposition, she received 39 complimentary votes.

East Penn Township

There were no challenges on the ballot facing East Penn Township voters this time around.

Deanna Cunfer, a Democrat, ran for re-election to a six-year term on the board of supervisors and received 332 complimentary votes.

Tax Collector Thomas N. Beck was re-elected to another four-year term without opposition. He received 310 token votes.

Township voters were also slated to elect two persons to serve on the board of auditors, one for a six-year term and the other for a four-year term. There were no candidates for the positions although write-in votes were recorded. They will be confirmed by the county's board of elections at a later date.

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


October 2017


Upcoming Events

Twitter Feed


Faith Alive UMC hosts ‘Revival on Purpose!’

40.804927, -75.656958

Faith Alive UMC, 678...

Pumpkin social in Tamaqua

40.7986307, -75.9683447

Zion Lutheran Church...

Feed the People hosts Halloween celebration

40.830215, -75.88356

Feed the People is h...

STEP-Up Tamaqua to meet Monday

40.798347, -75.970851

STEP-Up Tamaqua will...

Reader Photo Galleries