Skip to main content

'87 baseball team made D-11 finals

  • '87 baseball team made D-11 finals
    Copyright 2013
Published July 13. 2013 09:04AM

The 1987 Jim Thorpe baseball team, coached by Dave Malkin, compiled a 15-5 overall record for the season and was full of "firsts" for the Olympian baseball program.

It was the first team in school history to win a District 11 playoff game; to advance to the District 11 championship game and the first to qualify for the PIAA State AA Tournament. The Olympians also finished as the Schuylkill League Division II North champs with a record of 11-3. During the 1987 district playoffs, the Olympians defeated Freeland 3-2, Marian 8-4, Tri-Valley 2-0 before losing the championship to Salisbury, 8-3.

Overall, the senior class members were part of a team that compiled a Schuykill League four-year record of 43-15 (.768) while winning three Division II North championships. During their last two years, they were 24-4 with a winning percentage of .875. The team was consistent both on offense and defense and was only shutout once all year and that happended in the final game of the season in the state playoffs.

The pitching staff compiled a eam ERA of 3.60 through 20 games and was led by Pat Large, who was 6-1, Dennis Bincarosky who was 4-1 and John Searfoss who was 5-3.

The Olympians' batters had 42 extra base hits as part of a team batting average of .315. Leading the team at the plate was Searfoss (.468), Dave Rimsky (.348), Tim Benyo (.345), Bincarosky (.344) and Large (.324).

The team was led by Dave Malkin (head coach) and Sid Llera (assistant coach). Team membes were Dennis Bincarosky, Dave Brown, Pat Large, Mike Pope, Dave Rimsky, John Searfoss, Calvin Ulshafer, John Valick, Tim Benyo, John Cooper, Craig Armbruster, Chris Bott, Tony Wolfe, John Dennis, Rob Kovac, Joe Doll and Mark Rimsky. Team managers were Kelly Kmetz and Leann Brunner.

The 1987 team will be inducted along with the other members of the 2013 induction class which include Joe Rader, Erin Kennedy, Shawn Bradley and Eric Schrantz at the 24th annual Jim Thorpe Area Sports Hall of Fame banquet to be held on Saturday, August 17 at the Jim Thorpe Memorial Hall. Cocktail hour begins at 5 p.m. with dinner to follow at 6. The induction ceremony starts at 7:15 p.m. with entertainment to follow at 8:30.

Tickets for the entire evening can be obtained by calling Craig Zurn at 570-325-3855/3631, Ron Sheehan at 570-325-4244, Wilmer Redline at 570-325-3073 or Jack Kmetz at 570-325-4923.

During the next few weeks, THE TIMES NEWS will be featuring highlights of each inductee into the 2013 Jim Thorpe Area Sports Hall of Fame

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


October 2017


Upcoming Events

Twitter Feed


STEP-Up Tamaqua to meet Monday

40.798347, -75.970851

STEP-Up Tamaqua will...

Man faces charges for shooting his dog

40.8014826, -75.6101867

Charges have been fi...

Extension hosts annual dinner

40.7986942, -75.8104747

The Carbon County Ex...

Reader Photo Galleries