Skip to main content

Carbon County voter ranks have dropped

Published October 12. 2012 05:02PM

The number of registered voters in Carbon County has dropped from the last presidential election.

During the monthly meeting of the county election board on Thursday, Lisa Dart, director of elections, announced that as of Oct. 11, a total of 38,949 residents are now registered to vote. Of that total, 18,995 are Democrats, 14,736 are Republicans and 5,218 are other parties. This is a decrease of 629 registered voters from the 2008 presidential election.

The biggest difference is found in the Democratic party, where there is 1,071 fewer than four years ago. Republican voter figures have stayed the same, while other parties have risen by 442 registered individuals.

Dart pointed out that since the primary election in May, her department has handled about 700 registrations, which included new registrations and changes in registration.

In other election board business, the board voted to permit the following individuals to serve as precinct election officials in the upcoming presidential election. They include:

• Brenda Eckley, judge of election, Franklin Township, Harrity.

• Amanda Freeby, judge of election, Jim Thorpe Borough, 1st.

• Patti Jo Blum, clerk, Jim Thorpe Borough, 1st.

• Darlene Mosteller, clerk Jim Thorpe Borough, 2nd.

• Karen Lauth, judge of election, Jim Thorpe Borough, 3rd.

• Erin Rae Joseph, judge of election, Jim Thorpe Borough, 4th.

• Philip Mangum, clerk, Jim Thorpe Borough, 4th.

• James Rickert, judge of election, Lansford Borough, 23rd.

• Carly Rickert, judge of election, Lansford Borough, 25th.

• Brenda Chasarick, minority inspector, Lansford Borough, 25th.

• Kathleen Gieniec, majority inspector, Lansford Borough, 25th.

• Adrienne Vasiliou, clerk, Lansford Borough, 25th.

• Amy Erbe, clerk, Lansford Borough, 25th.

• Harry Procina, judge of election, Lehighton Borough, 29th.

• Fern Berger, clerk, Lehighton Borough, 29th.

• Paul M. Svetik, clerk, Lower Towamensing North, 32nd.

• Jo Anne Cox, clerk, Nesquehoning Borough, 41st.

• Holly McCole, minority inspector, Nesquehoning Borough 41st.

• Marian Hoffner, judge of election, Palmerton Borough, East.

• Susan Olivia, minority inspector, Palmerton Borough, East.

• Audrey Larvey, clerk, Palmerton Borough, East.

• Mari D. Seib, clerk, Palmerton, Middle.

• Wendy M. Searfoss, judge of election, Palmerton Borough, West.

• Pat Strohl, clerk, Palmerton Borough, West.

• Elaine Micelli, clerk, Penn Forest, 51-1.

• Joyce Gaumer, minority inspector, Penn Forest, 51-2.

• Tibor Torok, clerk, Penn Forest, 51-2.

• Tom Radocha, clerk, Summit Hill 1st, 52nd.

• Anne Marie Whitenight, majority inspector, Summit Hill 3rd, 54th.

• Patty Mansberry, clerk, Summit Hill 3rd, 54th.

• Marsha Mertz, clerk, Weissport Borough, 62nd.

• Marion Straub, clerk, Weissport Borough, 62nd.

Dart also announced that additional voting machines will be placed in various polling places in the county. One will be placed in Mahoning Township; four will be placed in Palmerton, Middle Ward; and one will be placed in each of Penn Forest's polling places Southwest, Northwest, Northeast, and East.

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


October 2017


Upcoming Events

Twitter Feed


Bombers get creative with parade floats

40.8014826, -75.6101867

Some of Palmerton’...

Man faces charges for shooting his dog

40.8014826, -75.6101867

Charges have been...

Extension hosts annual dinner

40.7986942, -75.8104747

The Carbon County Ex...

Reader Photo Galleries