Skip to main content

Pack 209 holds annual Blue and Gold banquet

  • Brody Boehler holds his Arrow of Light plaque.
    Brody Boehler holds his Arrow of Light plaque.
Published March 01. 2011 05:00PM

In keeping with the theme of club cavemen, the Cub Scouts and their families entered the Palmerton Rod and Gun Club through a cave, to which the scouts added cave drawings (their names) before the night was over. The Blue and Gold banquet was held Feb. 26.

It was an especially large crowd with extra tables set up. Fifteen scouts were welcomed into Boy Scout Troop 209 after bridging from Cub Scouts. There were a total of 48 scouts in the pack.

Dinosaurs floated overhead and balloons in the brown, black and grey of rocks joined the blue and gold balloons of the scouts. Rock candy lollipops were given to all children.

Garrett Demkovitz and Colby Moyer carried the flags for the flag ceremony.

Following the invocation by Troop 209 senior patrol leader Josh Getz, Robert Mauro gave the Friends of Scouting address. He said there are 12,000 scouts in the Northern Valley District with 5,500 adult volunteers. It costs $270 per scout for a year. Parents were asked to contribute.

Cubmaster Rick Moyer said, "Here is the tale of the tribe of Webelos and their great chieftain, Akela."

For the purpose of the scouts parents take the place of Akela guiding the scouts on their upward journey.

Rocky Borger, Webelos II leader, said a small boy sat listening to the Bobcat, Wolf and Bear in the forest and wished he could answer the drum call to the council ring. Chief Akela stepped into the ring and told of the strength of his father, the Arrow of Light. It is an arrow that points the way to Eagle.

The Tiger Scouts and their parents were asked to come front: Donovan Beers, Jacob Fenstermaker, Logan Green, William Marks III, Benjamin Slaw, Christopher Walkowiak and Wyatt Werner.

Parents for all age levels place the badges upside down in the scout's left shirt pocket. When the scout does a good deed they may turn it right-side up.

Borger continued the tale of Akela who went into the forest and learned from the Wolf and of Mowgli who learned to survive in the jungle. A scout must complete 12 achievements on the Wolf Trail to be eligible for a badge: Erik Brong, William Drake IV, Kurtis Gustafson, Derek Rea, Aaron Whitney, Alexander Whitney, Maxwell Wisler and Corlan Wood.

The Wolf Scouts also received gold and silver arrow points and belt loops. A gold arrow point is earned by completing 10 elective activities and for each additional 10 a silver point is earned.

As Akela met the bear with courage, the scouts walk the Big Bear Trail. The bear badge also requires completing 12 challenging achievements: Austin Ahner, Carson Allen, Michael Burnett, Richard Fasching III, Logan Kresge, Joshua Long, John Lundy, Tyler Roe, John Starrett and Aidan Wisler.

In fourth and fifth grade the scout is brought into the tribe of Weblos. He works on 20 activity badges and must earn three as he travels the road to Boy Scouting. Webelos badges went to Nathan Borger, Mason George, Ezekiel Himmelwright, Kory Marlatt, Eric Nothstein, Ethan Rotella, Parker Wisler, Nathan Starrett and Zachary Schoenberger.

Moyer said the highest rank of Cub Scouting is the Arrow of Light. A boy must have earned his fitness, readymann, citizen and eight other badges to be eligible. He must have participated in an overnight hike and visited a Boy Scout Troop.

The arrow of the Arrow of Light points to a good life and the rising sun symbolizes the constant challenge. Seven candles were lit representing the rays of the Arrow of Light symbol; wisdom, courage, self-control, justice, faith, hope and love.

Each scout received an Arrow of Light plaque: Benjamin Archer, Jarred Bartholmew, Eric Baumgardt, Bryce Beahm, Brody Boehler, Ryan Borger, Garrett Demkovitz, Hayden Kresge, Jarrett Long, Colby Moyer, Nate Starrett, Nathan Sterner, Jacob Tashler, Parker Wisler and Stephen Zazulak bridged into Boy Scouts.

After crossing the bridge they were welcomed to the circle around a "campfire," and immediately Rick Anderson, scoutmaster, began telling them of the scout program.

Special patches were awarded for participating in the Scout Sunday program at Jerusalem United Church of Christ and in the Pinewood Derby. Derby winners were Bryce Beahm, Mason George, Eric Nothstein and Ethan Rotella.

Leaders were recognized for their service and it was noted a new cubmaster, secretary and advancement chair will be needed for the new year. The three are moving into Boy Scouting. Moyer received his dinner paid as a result of being the recipient of the Patriot Award because he has "given of himself."

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


October 2017


Upcoming Events

Twitter Feed


Faith Alive UMC hosts ‘Revival on Purpose!’

40.804927, -75.656958

Faith Alive UMC, 678...

Pumpkin social in Tamaqua

40.7986307, -75.9683447

Zion Lutheran Church...

Feed the People hosts Halloween celebration

40.830215, -75.88356

Feed the People is h...

STEP-Up Tamaqua to meet Monday

40.798347, -75.970851

STEP-Up Tamaqua will...

Reader Photo Galleries