Skip to main content

Title game tonight

Published August 08. 2011 05:02PM

Molly Maguires Pub and Getz's Transportation will battle for this year's Jim Thorpe Summer League Basketball championship after recently winning semifinal matches.

Molly's downed Highland Beverage while Getz's disposed of Mauch Chunk Pharmacy.

In addition to the title game, which is set for Monday evening, the all-star rosters have also been announced. The all-star game will be played on Thursday, Aug. 11.


First Round


Getz's Transportation proved to be too much for the Bankers to handle losing 82-34 in first round playoff action.

Leading the Getz's charge was Eric Busocker who lit up the opposition with a 31-point effort. Steve Haldeman helped out shooting his way to 18 points.

Milton Moranta was top scorer for the Bank with nine.


Molly Maguries Pub jumped all over the Dillies early advancing to the semi-finals with a 63-40 victory.

Brad O'Donnell canned five trifectas scoring 23 points for Mollys, with Matt Yaich chipping in with 19.

For the Dillies, Don Reis netted 12.



In a back and forth contest Molly Maguires Pub pulled out a nail biter squeaking by Highland Beverage 78-74.

The Mollys were led by the big man in the middle, Matt Yaich, who scored 26 points. Brad O'Donnell and Josh Hontz added 12 and 10 in a winning effort.

Highland Beverage was paced by its usual three headed scoring tandem of Brad Hurley(18), Mark Zaengle(17), and Derick Reis(16).


Getz's Transportation had no problem with the Mauch Chunk Pharmacy cruising to an easy 57-41 victory.

Eric Busocker continued his scoring ways hitting for 27 including going 15-15 from the charity stripe.

Eric Schrantz led the way for the Pharmacy with 13 points.


Championship Game

Monday, Aug. 8

Molly Maguires Pub vs. Getz's Transportation, 7 p.m.

All-Star Game

Thursday, Aug. 11

Green Team vs. Blue Team, 7 p.m.

All-Star Roster

Green Team

"Jon Jon" McGinley, Chris McGlaughlin, Leo O'Donnell, Kevin Binder, Ian Miller, Steve Calcano, T.J. McKeon, Brad O'Donnell, Brian O'Donnell, Matt Yaich, Josh Hontz, Don Reis, Digger Gavornik

Blue Team

Craig Zurn, Eric Busocker, Steve Haldeman, Kyle Busocker, Jake Zurn, Scott McGonigal, Phil Redline, Dennis McGinley, Brad Hurley, Mark Zaengle, Tony Stoeckel, Mark Klotz, Derick Reis, Chris Hibbler

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


October 2017


Twitter Feed

Reader Photo Galleries