Skip to main content

Tamaqua hires special ed teacher

Published November 17. 2010 05:00PM

The Tamaqua Area School Board hired a special education teacher during its monthly meeting Tuesday evening.

Jennifer Graver, Tamaqua, was hired as a regular part-time special education teacher at a salary for bachelor's degree, step one, $36,027.

That salary is based on the steps from district's 2005-2010 contract, which expired on July 31. The district is currently in negotiations with its teachers' union on a new contract.

Nicole Weaver, Lehighton, was approved as a highly qualified part-time paraprofessional at the board approved rate.

All of the board's personnel actions were approved by unanimous vote. Board Vice President Dr. Thomas Rottet was absent.

In other personnel moves, the board approved the creation of middle school 8th grade class advisor, at a stipend of $325. Nancy Hludzik and Johanna Morrison were named as 8th grade co-advisors; each will be paid $162.50.

Janet P. Smolden, New Ringgold, was hired as Drama Club choregrapher at $704 and marking director at $587.

The board also created the positions of audio techician and student stagehand for events held in the district's auditorium, with stipends to be paid by organizations sponsoring the activities.

Mark Beltz was hired as audio technician at the cost of $50 per two hour block of time. Jerome Betz, Matt Hadesty and Julian Gerace were appointed as student stagehands at the cost of $22 per two hour block of time.

The following persons were approved as additions to the district's in-house security personnel: Eric Lech and Krystal Schmauch, high school faculty; Angela Faust, elementary school faculty; Larry Lech and Tavia Bachert, Tamaqua; and Bud Wagner, Nesquehoning.

The retirement of Arthur R. Williams, mainetance department, was accepted, effective Jan. 31, 2011.

The following were approved as substitute custodians: Kim Betz, Kathy Brobst, Zalane Kunkel, Brian McGeehan, Justin Stephens, Dawn Yacovelli, all of Tamaqua; Rosemary Deren and Ronald Hartung, both of New Ringgold; Roy Ashford, Pottsville; and Norman Rang, Brockton.

The following were approved as substitute guest teachers: Abigail Graver and Rebecca Ndikwiki, both of Tamaqua; Nicholas Adams and Tyler Moyer, both of Orwigsburg; Kathleen Milner, Kate Delenick and Laurie Marks, all of Pottsville; Mary George, Auburn; Damian Ives, Kempton; Diana Backus, Coaldale; John Buckler, St. Clair; and Robert Campomizzi, New Ringgold.

The following part-time paraprofessionals were approved for unpaid leaves of absence: Milissa Scannell. Dec. 22-23 and Jan. 3-5, 2011; Margaret Miller, Nov. 15-18; and Elaine R. Jones, Nov. 30 and Dec. 1-3.

An unpaid leave of absence for Carolyn Steigerwalt, cafeteria worker, from Nov. 8-12 for medical reasons was approved retroactively.

The board adjusted the pay of Pamela Rehrig from $8.30 per hour to $8.25 per hour, as per the district's contract.

The resignation of Madeline Behler, part-time paraprofessional, was accepted, retroactive to Nov. 5.

The board also terminated an employee for abandonment of his or her position. The name of the employee was not disclosed.

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


November 2017


Upcoming Events

Twitter Feed

Reader Photo Galleries