Skip to main content

Softball team gains division title

Published July 31. 2010 09:00AM

The 1992 girls' softball team made history at Jim Thorpe by becoming the first and only championship girls' softball team in the history of the school.

Playing in the Schuylkill League's II North Division, the Lady Olympians garnered a record of 13-1 over the regular season and won their respective division. They also won the school's first-ever District 11 playoff game with a 4-2 victory over Cardinal Brennan. Their season ended in a nine-inning 6-5 setback to Northwestern Lehigh, which brought their final record to 15-4. No girls' softball team before or after has had that kind of success on the field as the 1992 championship team did.

Seven players were selected to the Schuylkill League Coaches' All-Star team. Tammy Mullen, Leslie Serfass and Kristen Heiser were selected to the First Team and Bobi Jo Leinhard, Marcia King, Jennifer Karper and Mary Gillespie were named to the Second Team. The coaches also selected Ray Heiser as the 1992 Coach of the Year.

The team defeated arch-rivals, Panther Valley and Marian, twice during the regular season and had a team batting average of .344 and stole 190 bases during the season, a remarkable 10 stolen bases per game. The leading hitters were: Kristen Heiser .425, Leslie Serfass .418, Bobi Jo Lienhard .360, Tammy Mullen .341, Mary Gillespie .333, Jennifer Karper .318 and Marcia King .302. Two members of the team also pitched no-hit games during the season Bobi Jo Leinhard and Jennifer Skelly.

The coaches were: Head coach, Ray Heiser, and assistants, Lori Leinhard and Tom Skelly. The team managers were Ian Heiser and Wendy Highland. The members of the championship team were: Bobi Jo Leinhard, Leslie Serfass, Jennifer Skelly, Jennifer Karper, Mary Gillespie, Kristen Heiser, Vicky Schafer, Tammy Mullen, Debbie Doll, Amy Zovak, Jolene Livengood, Rhonda Lazorick, Melissa Marzen, Marcia King, Jolene Haman, Hope Ferguson, Jenny Beers, Kerri Hartman, Jessy Schoch and Michelle Bianculli.

The Jim Thorpe Sports Hall of Fame banquet will be held on Saturday, August 21 at the Jim Thorpe Memorial Hall. Cocktail hour will begin at 5 p.m., dinner at 6 p.m., the Induction ceremonies at 7:15 p.m. and the entertainment will follow beginning at 8:30 p.m. Tickets for the induction ceremony and the entire evening can be obtained by calling Craig Zurn at 570-325-3855/3631, Ron Sheehan at 570-325-4244, Wilmer Redline at 570-325-3073 or Jack Kmetz at 570-325-4923.

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


November 2017


Upcoming Events

Twitter Feed

Reader Photo Galleries