A concept was mentioned during a meeting of Lehighton Borough Council whereby a single police department would serve all of Lehighton Area School District. The school district includes Lehighton, Weissport, East Penn Township, Franklin Township, Mahoning Township, and Parryville. Lehighton Chief of Police Dennis Wentz said he received a call from Mahoning Township Chief of Police David Ebbert regarding the availability of a study by the Pa. Department of Community Affairs into such a concept.