The Panther Valley School Board on Thursday fired an employee because of a past offense.

The board did not name the employee, who is not a teacher, other than as number 384, nor did officials release details of the nature of the offense.

School Director Koreen Nalesnik did not vote on the matter; School Director Mickey Angst was the sole opponent.

After the public meeting, Superintendent Rosemary Porembo said the employee was fired under a section of the state school code which lists 26 offenses, ranging from criminal homicide to violations of the controlled substances acts.

In other matters Thursday, the school board:

*Hired Frank Victor at $45 an hour, not to exceed 10 hours, to investigate a complaint filed with the board's Personnel Committee. Angst and Nalesnik voted no.

*Passed a resolution that the board "strongly supports the administrative team and their ability to interpret and enforce the district's policies," with Angst voting no.

*After a protracted discussion that involved Nalesnik and enforcement of the dress code, the board voted to remove an agenda item denying any board member from independently giving directives to any member of the administrative team with board approval. School directors Irene Genther, Bill Hunsicker, Richard Zabroski, Angst, and Nalesnik voted no. School Director David Hiles left before the vote was taken. School directors Michelle Markovich, Anthony DeMarco and board president Jeff Markovich voted against removing the item.

*Denied a Panther Valley Education Association grievance #2011-2012-RP;

*Approved a settlement meeting with the teacher's union in reference to grievance #1201

*Approved the following spring sports coaches: Phil Shelton at an assistant coach stipend of $1,700; Matt Davis at an assistant coach stipend of $1,300; Tim Robb as a volunteer.

*Approved winter sports coaches, without salaries: Boy's basketball: Pat Crampsie, Keith Gogal, Mark Lazar, Shaun Midas, Andrew Michalik, Charlie Depuy, Terry Bonner, Ken Miller and Erica Barron. Wrestling: Tim Robb, Richard Bower Jr., Michael O'Donnell, Ed Kennedy and Ben Warren. Cheerleading: Hallie Seiwell, Heidi Seiwell and Amber Vachon.

*Accepted the 2010-2011 Jones & Co. audit report;

*Approved the Lehigh Carbon Community College budget for 2012-2013.