Tuesday, September 23, 2014

News Makers

Wednesday, February 10, 2010

Positive Student Virtues are recognized at Our Lady of the Angels Academy, Lansford, through the Student of the Month Program. The students who have achieved this honor for the month of January include: Kindergarten - Sadie Trubilla ( Diligence), Grade 1 - Ethan Chuma (Consideration), Grade 2 - Alison Slakoper (Responsibility), Grade 3 - Urielle Cuevas (Friendliness), Grade 4 - Isabella Blasko (Kindness), Grade 5 - Nicholas Maruschak (Attentiveness To Academic Performance), Grade 6 - Emma Macaluso (Helpfulness), Grade 7 - Frank DeFebo - Patience, Grade 8 - Kyle Stanek (Reverence)

Monday, February 8, 2010

Anthony Plocinik, Lehighton, has been named to the dean's list at Penn State University, Hazleton campus. A freshman, his GPA for the fall semester was 3.74.

He is a 2009 graduate of Palmerton Area High School and the son of Ann Therese and Tony Plocinik. He is the grandson of Peter A. Kupec and the late Bernadine Kupec of Lansford and Ron and Bernie Plocinik of Coaldale.

Monday, February 8, 2010

Marian High School has announced the names of students on the school Honor Roll for the second Quarter of the 2009-2010 school year.

Distinguished Honors

(93 or above in allmajor subjects)

Seniors- Julie Baran, Katherine Dodson, Theresa Patten

Juniors – Amanda Ketusky, Rose Sheridan, Victoria Vadyak

Sophomores – Miranda Milillo, Stephen Valente

Freshman – Jessica Horlacher, Ryan Karnish

First Honors

(90 grade point average, no subject below 87)

Monday, February 8, 2010

Melissa Finney has been named to the dean's list at Millersville University for the 2009 fall semester. She will graduate in May 2010 with a bachelor's degree in psychology. She is the daughter of Cindy and Richard Finney and the granddaughter of Edward and Grace Finney of Lehighton.

Monday, February 8, 2010

The following students made honor roll at Carbon Career & Technical Institute for the second marking period of the 2009-10 school year:

Jim Thorpe:Director's Honors: Xavier Vargas. Principal's Honors: Samantha Adams, Jonathan Baptiste, Shealyn Burkholder, Alissa Curreri, Nicholas Davis, Kelsea Feliciano, Christine Jumet, Josh Lawrence, Gregory Obiril, Natashia Roth, Andrew Salazar, Danielle Walsh. Honorable Mention: Cheryl DeFebbo, Gabrielle Kline, Amber Palmieri, Kimberly Pera, Kristy Rodgers, Megan Roseman, Sara Tompkins.

Monday, February 8, 2010

The Palmerton Area High School Honor Roll for the third marking period of the first semester of the 2009-10 school year has been announced by Ms. Kathleen A. Egan, Principal.

High Honors (3.75-4.00+ GPA in all subjects)

Seniors: Danielle Bissell, Kendalyn Carbajal, Daniel Costenbader, Lillian Ermlick, Jessica Fegley, Kathleen Gasper, Courtney Gruber, Stephanie Gursky, Missina Hager, Frank Hall, Daniel Haney, Robert Keyser, Ryan Kleintop, Madeline Koller, Danielle Kutz, Brandon Mazepa, Sarah McGuigon, Keith Meyers, Marcus Pitts, Jesse Reis, Kassidy Stauder, Kimberly Varano

Monday, February 8, 2010

Army National Guard Spec. Daniel C. Murray is returning to the U.S. after a deployment to Iraqi or Afghanistan in support of Operations Iraqi Freedom or Enduring Freedom, respectively.

The soldiers return to Fort Dix, N.J. for debriefing, evaluations and out-processing procedures before returning to their regularly assigned Army Reserve or National Guard units.

Murray is a wheeled vehicle mechanic with the 628th Aviation Support Battalion, based in Annville. The specialist has served in the military for six years.

Friday, February 5, 2010

Victoria Berger, daughter of Kerry and Alice Berger of Lehighton, has been named to the dean's list for the fall semester at Penn State University.

She is a 2009 graduate of Lehighton Area High School and is currently majoring in environmental systems engineering.

Berger is also the granddaughter of Andrew and Irene Homyak of Lehighton, and the late George and Louise Berger.

Thursday, February 4, 2010

Our Lady of the Angels Academy Second Quarter Honor Roll includes:

Tuesday, February 2, 2010

Amanda Blum, daughter of Patti Jo and the late Ronald Blum of Jim Thorpe, has been named to the dean's list for the 2009 fall semester at Cedar Crest College, Allentown.

A 2007 graduate of Jim Thorpe Area High School, Blum earned a 3.85 grade point average, in secondary education and american history.

Blum is employed at Cedar Crest College in the printing services department.