Summit Hill Borough Council held its reorganization meeting Monday. There are no new faces on the board, but there is a new president.

In November, all the incumbent council members were re-elected. Last night they were sworn in by Mayor Paul McArdle. They are John O'Gurek, Gregory Kosciolek, Billy O'Gurek, and William Chapman.

McArdle also swore in reelected tax collector Alice Kane.

The council elected Jesse Walck to serve as the president.

Michael Kokinda, who had been the president, was nominated for the position but was defeated by a 4-2 vote. He abstained from voting.

Walck then won the nomination by a 4-2 vote. He also abstained.

Voting for Walck were Kokinda, Kosciolek, Billy O'Gurek, and Michael Alabovitz. Opposed were Chapman and John O'Gurek.

Kokinda was then elected vice president.

Initially, Chapman nominated John O'Gurek, who has served for years as the vice chairman. The motion died for the lack of a second.

Kociolek nominated Kokinda, who passed by a 6-1 vote. John O'Gurek cast the only negative vote.

After the vote was taken, John O'Gurek left the meeting.

Chapman was elected president pro-temp.

Kira Steber was reappointed secretary, treasurer, open records officer, garbage fee collector, adminstrative officer for the police and borough pension fund, administrative officer for the Community Development Block Grant and Home Grant monies, and recycling grant coordinator.

Attorney Michael Greek was retained as borough solicitor at a rate of $90 per hour.

Jim Thorpe National Bank and PLGIT were named the borough's depository.

Carbon Engineering will continue to serve as the borough's engineering firm.

The council renamed Joseph Fittos as the chief of police.

Shawn Hoben was retained as the fire chief at a rate of $400 per year.

John Allesch was reappointed Emergency Management Agency coordinator at a rate of $300 per year.

Bill Kirklosky will serve as zoning officer and will be paid $15 per hour.

Scott Bieber was appointed Sewage Enforcement Officer. The previous SEO, Carl Wolfe, was named the alternate.

Attorney Michael Garfield was named solicitor for the zoning hearing board and planning commission at a rate of $65 per hour.

The council changed its meeting dates to the fourth Monday of each month starting in February.

Lehigh Engineering was appointed the borough's property maintenance code enforcement.

The council filled the following expiring terms:

Ÿ Reappointed Robert Collevechio to the Summit Hill Water Authority to a five-year term.

Ÿ Renamed Dave Wargo as a member of the Civil Service Commission for six years.

Ÿ Reappointed Michael J. Kulick as a member of the Appeals Board for a thre-year term.