Carbon County Conservation District, Carbon/Monroe Farm Service Agency, Carbon/Monroe Natural Resource Conservation Service and Penn State Cooperative Extension combined forces to recently host their annual awards banquet at the Mahoning Valley Ambulance building.

Mindy Graver, Family and Consumer Science Educator, Penn State Extension, served as master of ceremonies.

Graver welcomed everyone to the annual banquet. The banquet allows the agencies to thank the people who help make their projects so successful throughout the year.

After a hearty meal served by the Mahoning Valley Ambulance staff, the presentation of awards began with the presentation of Rachel W. Hoffmeier 4-H Scholarship awards to Courtney Getz of Palmerton, Elyse Kistler and Jacqueline Malloy, both of Lehighton by Howard Gregory, president of the 4-H Development Advisory Committee; and Georgia Farrow, 4-H and Youth Development Program assistant.

Getz is the daughter of Richard and Yvette Getz. She is a member of the Carbon County 4-H Livestock Club. She plans to attend West Chester University and major in medical laboratory science in the fall.

Kistler is the daughter of Paul and Cheryl Kistler and is a member of the Mahoning Valley Community Club. She plans to major in communication skills and public relations at either West Chester University or Indiana University of Pennsylvania.

Malloy is the daughter of James and Vickie Malloy and is also a member of the Mahoning Valley Community Club. She plans to enter college in the fall and will major in both English and prelaw or political science.

The Rachael W. Hoffmeier 4-H Scholarship Award was established as a memorial to Rachel W. Hoffmeier, a former Extension Home Economist, and recognizes a 4-H member who is interested in self-improvement.

Georgia Farrow, 4-H and Youth Development Program assistant, recognized a 4-H leader, with the presentation of the Outstanding 4-H Leader award. Recognized was Diane Conner of Lehighton. Several leaders were also presented Years of Service awards. Honored were: Anne Yenser of Lehighton, 30 years; Rosa Hawk of Palmerton, 20 years; and Shannon Frycklunk and Luke Graver, both of Lehighton, one year.

Also recognized by Farrow was Monroe Cressley of Lehighton as the Outstanding 4-H Supporter Award. He was presented a molded sculpture.

Farrow also recognized new 4-H Development committee members, Monroe Cressley and Danadee Miller-Boyle of Lehighton.

Chris Storm, director of Carbon County Conservation District, presented Erosion and Sedimentation pollution Control Awards to two recipients, Al Weaver and Aaron B Barnes of Urban Engineers. Weaver is project manager of the Pa. Turnpike Bridge and Pohopoco Bridge Projects. They were both recognized for their conservation efforts throughout the bridge building projects.

CCCD also recognized Robert Miller of Fairyland Farms for his conservation efforts.

Also recognized by Nancy Grotevant, Penn State Extension Pocono District director, with certificates were outgoing Penn State Extension Board members: Monroe Cressley of Lehighton; Julie Foley of Albrightsville; and Josiah Behrens III of Jim Thorpe. She also recognized new extension board members, Denise Cressley of Lehighton; and Audrey Wargo of Jim Thorpe.

Grotevant also presented Master Gardener Volunteer Awards to Slate Altenburg, 500 volunteer hours; Maryann Serafini and John Kupec, 250 volunteer hours; and Diane Giffels and Leeza Fox, 150 volunteer hours.