Scores of uniformed Tamaqua firefighters solemnly marched into church Sunday evening in full parade dress to pay tribute to the caring devotion of departed souls of the Tamaqua Fire Department.

Bethany Evangelical Congregational Church, 223 East Broad Street, hosted the 83rd Annual Tamaqua Volunteer Fireman's Association Memorial Service with a worship service led by the Rev. Kevin Roberts.

The service centered on the message "The Ultimate Fire Protection" and was followed by the roll call of deceased members. The past year saw the loss of 14 dedicated firemen since the last service was held in May, 2011. Half of that total were from South Ward Fire Company.

They include: Robert C. Reeser, John E. Hartranft, Francis (Frank) Camerini, Harold A. Hossler, Ignatz Francis Sepos, Francis Valentine and George Lishman.

Deceased from American Hose Company include: Marlin Schuetrumpf, Martin Derr and John L. Schuchart.

Citizens Fire Company lost John E. (Jack) O'Brien and John F. Urban.

East End Fire Company said farewell to John Horan and Joseph T. Murphy.

The service also included the Fireman's Prayer, the Lord's Prayer, and hymns 'America, O Beautiful for Spacious Skies' and 'Amazing Grace.'

A taps salute was provided by Erin Raymond.

Serving as greeters were Pastor Roberts and Kim Valentine. Ushers were Jay and Nick Hollenbach. Band members included Rodney Clouser, guitar; Rob Valentine, bass guitar, Danette Roberts, keyboard and Frank Miller, drums.

Officers of the Tamaqua Volunteer Firemen's Relief Association are: Tony Maff, president; Randy Schock, vice president; Dan Evans, secretary and Nancy Willing, treasurer.

The TVFRA memorial committee is comprised of: Tom Hartz, Jr., chairman; Chris Heffelfinger, co-chairman; Bill Weaver, E. J. Yescavage, George Haldeman, Robert Amentler, Mike Angelo and Marc Valenti.

The flag committee includes Chris Hartz, chairman, Bob Boyle, Sr., co-chairman, Tom Schlorf and Dave Wertman.

Those assisting with the graves committee are: Mark Bower, chairman, Keith Oliphant, co-chairman, Jay Stidham, Jason Hartz, William Seladones, Jim Fredericks, Tom Nelson and Dale Hadesty.