Jim Thorpe Borough Council welcomed two new board members during its recent reorganization meeting at Memorial Park Hall.

The two new members, Betsy Ahner and Joseph Krebs, join returning council members Justin Yaich, Joanne Klitsch, John McGuire, Gregory Strubinger, and Kyle Sheckler.

Mayor Michael Sofranko opened the meeting by asking for nominations for council president. Ahner was nominated and then elected president while Strubinger was nominated elected as vice president.

Council also approved the appointments of James Nanovic as borough solicitor; Entech, Inc, as borough engineer; Mauch Chunk Trust Co. as borough depository bank; and Buckno, Lisicky, & Co. as borough auditor.

Retained borough employees include Wesley Johnson as borough manager, Louise McClafferty as borough secretary, Maria Sebelin as borough treasurer, Joseph Schatz as police chief, James Trainer as street supervisor, Edward Gula as sewer supervisor, Vince Yaich as water supervisor, and Eugene Mulligan as building and zoning officer.

Borough council meetings will be held the second Thursday of each month at 6:30 pm.