About 100 uniformed firefighters marched into church Sunday evening in Tamaqua to pay tribute to the caring devotion of departed souls of the Tamaqua Fire Department.

Trinity United Church of Christ hosted the 81st Annual Memorial Service of the Tamaqua Volunteer Firemen's Association with a worship service led by the Rev. David W. Grant, who offered a call to remembrance.

The past year took an exceptionally heavy toll on the fire department with 28 members departing since the last service in May, 2009. Departed members since last year include 13 from East End Fire Company: Grace DeLay, Joseph Fabrizio, Jack R. Lane, Cory P. McCarroll, William J. Moyer, Gene A. Parrish, Joseph A. Plasko, Timothy J. Rowan, Richard J. Skasko, Joseph M. Tracy, Rodney F. Werley, Lawrence J. Whetstone and Anthony C. M. Yuskauskas.

Deceased from South Ward Fire Company included nine individuals: Joseph M. Marcin, George P. Wolfe, Jonathan Valentine, Leonard T. Patrick, Anthony J. Fredicine, Walter Henne, John Melnick, David J. Hegarty and Joseph Camerini.

American Hose Company lost three members since last May: Leroy I. Boyer, William K. Klingaman and William G. Clemson.

Those departed from Citizens Fire Company are: Roy T. Brode, Thomas H. Hartz, Sr. and Patricia Ann Vidzicki.

The service included several participants, among them: Seminarian Gary Rarick, lector; Ray M. Swartz, assistant; Richard Hadesty Sr. and Tom Hadesty, greeters and ushers; Richard Hadesty, Jr., and Ray Swartz, ushers; Olivia Morrison, acolyte, Allison Dombrowski, crucifer; and Phyllis J. Paisley, organist.

Officers of the Tamaqua Volunteer Firemen's Relief Association are: Tony Maff, president; Randy Schock, vice president; Dan Evans, secretary and Nancy Willing, treasurer.

The TVFRA memorial committee is comprised of: Robert Amentler, Jim Fredericks, George Haldeman, Tom Hartz, Jr., Chris Heffelfinger, Jay Hollenbach, Jr., and Craig Valentine.

The flag committee includes: Tom Schlorf, Dave Wertman, Chris Hartz and Bob Boyle Sr.

Those assisting with the graves committee are: Mark Bowers, Keith Oliphant, Chrisy Melchor, Ed Kester, William Seladones, Jason Hartz, Chris Hadesty and Matt Welsh.