In addition to the swearing in of the 18th judge of the Court of Common Pleas of Carbon County – Steven R. Serfass – yesterday three row officeholders and two jury commissioners were also sworn into office after being elected in the November 2009 general election.

Taking the oath of office were:

Judy F. Moon, Nesquehoning, register of wills/clerk of orphans court beginning her fourth, four-year term, originally serving a two-year term to complete an unexpired term.

William C. McGinley, Lehighton, as clerk of court beginning his sixth, four-year term.

Ronald Sheehan, Jim Thorpe, county treasurer, beginning his third, four-year term.

Also taking oath of office were jury commissioners Joseph Steber and Joanne Poluka-Maurer, both of Nesquehoning.

Steber is beginning his second term in office as the Republican jury commissioner.

Poluka-Maurer was elected to her first term and takes over the position formerly held by her father, William Poluka.

He died while in office and his position was filled by Frank Jacobs, of Nesquehoning.

Poluka-Maurer defeated Jacobs in the Democratic primary for the position.

Also taking the oath of office was Joseph D. Homanko Sr., Weatherly, as district judge for magisterial court 56-3-04, which covers the communities of Beaver Meadows, East Side, Weatherly and the townships of Banks, Kidder, Lausanne, Lehigh and Packer. Homanko begins his second, six-year term.