Log In

Reset Password

Slim margin upsets four-term senator

Four-term Pennsylvania Sen. Patrick M. Browne was lagging behind in the Republican Primary Election on Tuesday.

Browne, of Allentown, was losing to Jarrett C. Coleman of Upper Macungie Township by just 30 votes. The unofficial tally showed Coleman with 17,002, compared to Browne’s 16,972 in the balloting for the 16th Senatorial District.

If the win holds up, Coleman will face Democrat Mark E. Pinsley in the General Election. Pinsley received 23,038 token votes as an unopposed candidate yesterday.

The district consists of parts of Bucks County; parts of Lehigh County, including of the city of Allentown (part, wards 13 and 18), the townships of Heidelberg, Lower Macungie, Lower Milford, Lowhill, Lynn, North Whitehall, part of South Whitehall, Upper Macungie, Upper Milford, Upper Saucon, Washington and Weisenberg and the boroughs of Alburtis, Coopersburg, Macungie and Slatington.

Meanwhile, nominations from both parties set the stage for General Election contests in three other senatorial districts.

In the 40th District, Sen. Mario Scavello, a Republican, is retiring. One Republican and one Democrat are aspiring to the seat and both received complimentary votes yesterday prior to their November contest.

They include Republican Rosemary M. Brown, a current state representative from Middle Smithfield Township, who received 17,996 votes, and Democrat Jennifer Anne Shukaitis of Stroud Township, who tallied 13,915 votes.

In the 14th District, three Democrats and three Republicans sought yesterday’s nominations.

On the Democratic side, Nicholas P. Miller was the winner with 8,781 votes, followed by Tara M. Zrinski with, 8,703 and Yamelisa Taveras with 3,202.

Republican Dean N. Browning won his party’s nomination with 8,816 votes. Cynthia L. Miller finished second with 5,376 votes and Omy Juriel Maldonado was third with 3,756 votes.

The district consists of parts of Lehigh County, including parts of Allentown; the townships of Hanover, Salisbury, parts of South Whitehall and Whitehall; boroughs of Catasauqua, Coplay, Emmaus and Fountain Hill, and part of Northampton County, including the townships of Allen, Bushkill, East Allen, Hanover, Lehigh and Moore and the boroughs of Bath, Chapman, North Catasauqua, Northampton and Walnutport.

Democratic Sen. Lisa M. Boscola was unopposed in the 18th District, as was her November opponent, Republican John J. Merhottein Jr. Boscola collected 23,564 token votes from party members while Merhottein tallied 16,995 “comps.”

The district consists of parts of Lehigh County, consisting of the City of Bethlehem (Lehigh County portion) and parts of Northampton County, consisting of the cities of Bethlehem (Northampton County portion) and Easton, the townships of Bethlehem, Forks, Lower Mount Bethel, Lower Nazareth, Lower Saucon, Palmer, Plainfield, Upper Mount Bethel, Upper Nazareth, Washington and Williams, and the boroughs of Bangor, East Bangor, Freemansburg, Glendon, Hellertown, Nazareth, Pen Argyl, Portland, Roseto, Stockertown, Tatamy, West Easton, Wilson and Wind Gap.