Log In

Reset Password

Weatherly Area School Board reorganizes

The Weatherly Area School Board reorganized for their first December meeting, adding the two newly elected members Barbara Sipler and Ken Jacoby III.

The board confirmed the first elected term of Nancy Mulvaney, who had been appointed to fill the seat vacated by Shay McGee in June.

District Justice Joseph Homanko conducted the swearing in of these three.

Once they were seated, members unanimously elected April Walters as board president for 2022. William Knepper was elected vice president of the board on a vote of 6-1, Thomas Connors opposed. Knepper was appointed as liaison to the Pennsylvania School Boards Association by unanimous vote.

During the caucus meeting that immediately followed the reorganization, the board filled the vacant seat that was Gerry Grega’s with Chrissie Houser, a regular attendee at board meetings and an active community member.

Shay McGee was voted back into office in the November election, and she declined to accept the seat. The board filled her seat with Christy Minor.

The new members were then sworn in by Judge Homanko.

Both Houser and Minor will be eligible to be elected to their seats on the next local election ballot.

The board will hold its regular voting meeting on Dec. 8.

Weatherly Area School Board members, from left, Nancy Mulvaney, Ken Jacoby III and Barbara Sipler are sworn in to office by District Justice Joseph Homanko. Each serves a four-year term. SETH ISENBERG/SPECIAL TO THE TIMES NEWS