Log In

Reset Password

Students inducted into music honor society

The Tamaqua High School Music Department held its annual Tri-M Music National Honor Society induction ceremony last in the Tamaqua Area Auditorium.

Five students were inducted into the society as new members while 17 students were recognized as continuing members of the honor society.

The formation of a Tri-M Music Honor Society chapter signifies Tamaqua High School’s recognition of the importance of the arts in the development of a comprehensive educational program. Tri-M provides a means of recognizing the efforts and achievements of music students who volunteer their time and share their musical talents with others.

The goals of the Tri-M Music Honor Society are to foster greater interest in band, orchestral and choral performance and to provide a wider opportunity for personal musical expression. Students are selected for membership to the honor society on the basis of musicianship, scholarship, leadership and service to their school and community.

The following students were chosen for induction: Helen Florea, Gabe Fritz, Gracie Nallon, Victoria Pratt and Nicholas Wall.

Recognized as continuing members were: Olivia Brown, Gianna Grannick, Zachary Groner, Michael Hegedus, Jessica Hollenbach, David Hull, Jessica Koscak, Justin Lewis, Laura Mace, Brady Miller, Nastassia Orach, Kashia Radocha, Taylor Rodgers, Angel Shiner, Caitlin Smith, Grace Stegemerten and Terra Steigerwalt.

John Buglio, choral director, and Mark Beltz, band director, presided over the ceremony as the chapter sponsors.

John Buglio, choral director, left; and Mark Beltz, band director, right; welcome new inductees Nicholas Wall, Gabe Fritz, Gracie Nallon, Helen Florea and Victoria Pratt. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO