Log In

Reset Password

Tamaqua Chamber announces annual award winners

The Tamaqua Area Chamber of Commerce announced the 2020 Citizen and Business of the Year winners.

Linda Heigele is the 2020 Joe Plasko Citizen of the Year.

Heigele served as the secretary of the Tamaqua Beautification Association for 18 years and played a vital role in the revitalization of the Tamaqua Train Station and upkeep of the Depot Square Park.

She has been on the Save our Station Committee since 1992.

During her tenure, she has held the position of vice president, chairperson of the membership committee, and is currently the treasurer.

Heigele also managed the SOS Gift Shop at the train station until it closed. She is a member of Downtown Tamaqua Board and was nominated as chairperson of the Depot Square Committee for 10 years.

Heigele is a proud member of St. John Lutheran Church. She has sat on the church council for six years and served as vice president for two years. Linda was chairwoman of the evangelism committee and fellowship committee.

She is also active in the worship and music committee and garden committees and previously was a member of the property committee for three years. She also is eucharistic minister for St. John Lutheran Church.

Heigele has been Relay for Life co-captain for 18 years and raised between $800 and $1,000 annually. Linda received the Penn Ambassador Award for service and was invited to the Capitol in Harrisburg to accept that award.

Business of the year

The 2020 Business of the Year is Shafer’s Pharmacy, owned and operated by Ben and Lee Shafer.

The Shafers operate the only independent, family owned pharmacy in Tamaqua.

Shafer’s Pharmacy is a third-generational local business that began with Edward Shafer purchasing the former Burt’s Drugstore in 1946.

Both Lee and his son, Ben, are very active in the community. The pharmacy is a longtime supporter of virtually any and every community festival, fundraiser or project, from the holiday light fund, to the annual daffodil days, to the longtime support as members of the Tamaqua Area Chamber of Commerce.

Lee is the chairman of the Tamaqua Area Community Partnership.

Both gentlemen are proud members of the Cressona Band and are active in the church where they also provide their shared musical talents.

Linda Heigele is the 2020 Joe Plasko Citizen of the Year. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO
Shafer's Pharmacy is the 2020 Business of the Year. CONTRIBUTED PHOTOS.