Skip to main content

George gains Modified win

Published May 19. 2014 05:01PM

Nevin George was undeniably above the rest of his Modified counterparts in winning his first feature of the year Saturday night at Mahoning Valley Speedway.

With heavy hitters John Markovic, Eric Beers and Earl Paules trying to unseat him from the lead, George was above and beyond what they threw at him.

"I was never worried at all about them. On a lengthy green flag run our car only got better and we never ran more than a 10 lap run. The longer we ran the better we progressed," said George.

Starting seventh, he raced to the front after a duel with Paules over laps 9-15.

"We had a good car all night right from the heat (race). The tires we have on were for the 100 lapper that got rained out multiple times and we decided to put them on tonight. I knew we would have a decent starting spot so we put the stickers on and took advantage ... and here we are," said George.

George indeed had the strongest car but with a number of cautions that dotted the race it kept him from showing just how much he had. Plus there was a water issue in turn four from the heavy rain that hit the track on Friday.

"The track was a little uncertain because of the water that was laying in turn four and you didn't know what to expect from one lap to the next and then there was a little mist coming down," said George. "But our car stuck and when I get to the front it's hard to get around me."

George was close to perfect. His restarts were spot on as he held off his attackers.

"You plan for this all winter and you come into the season with high expectations. It took us four weeks but I'm glad it's done and now we'll get ready for the next one."

The Late Model feature was a tight paced event that saw Paul Effrig claim his first division win and his victory in 14 seasons.

Taking the lead on lap four, Effrig was immersed under a heavy blanket of competition. Paul Koehler Jr., Frankie Althouse, Mike Sweeney and Earl Paules gave him all he could handle but never did he turn a wheel wrong, hitting his marks on each lap and fending off his aggressors.

Randy Ahner Jr., cruised out front for all 30 laps en route to his first Street Stock win of the year and his 25th career win. The former two-time champion was stout from the drop of the green as he outgunned his teammate, Jared Ahner, for the opening lap lead and would never seriously be challenged.

Keeping that momentum, Ahner Jr., raced in the Small Car Enduro and had a carbon copy run as he led from start to finish and won for the first time with that class.

After a caution with eight laps in, the Dirt Mod race was shortened to 15 laps due to time restraints. Kevin Graver Jr. knew it was go time and restarting second to JP Curry, the current point leader shot into the lead and gained his first win in the division and 41st overall.

After three straight second place finishes, Pro 4 point leader Nick Baer used a lap three restart to grab the lead from Jesse Snyder and then had to work hard in holding off Bobby Kibler Sr., for his first win of the year.

Steve McDonough made a daring late race paced on Cody Geist to score his career first win in the Hobby Stocks.

On a restart with two laps to go, McDonough got a jump from the inside and zipped by Geist for the memorable win.

Modified Feature Finish (35 Laps): 1. Nevin George, 2. John Markovic, 3. Eric Beers, 4. Earl Paules, 5. Chip Santee, 6. Kyle Strohl, 7. Roger Coss, 8. Kris Graver, 9. Eric Kocher, 10. Brian Romig, 11. Don Wagner, 12. Mike Quinn, 13. Jason Zatsko, 14. Francis Gross III, 15. Glenn Slocum, 16. Terry Markovic, 17. Tony Zatsko, 18. Joe Stamm

Late Model (25 Laps): 1. Paul Effrig, 2. Frankie Althouse, 3. Mike Sweeney, 4. Earl Paules, 5. Paul Koehler, Jr., 6. George Ramos, 7. Jeremy Miller, 8. Jacob Kerstetter, 9. Danielle Paules, 10. Geno Steigerwalt, 11. Jacob Nemeth, 12. Kyle Harvell DNS: Dave Imler

Street Stock Feature Finish (30 Laps): 1. Randy Ahner, Jr., 2. Jared Ahner, 3. Chip Wanamaker, 4. Zach Graver, 5. Matt Wentz, 6. Steven Steigerwalt, 7. Joe Mooney, 8. TJ Gursky, 9. Josh Mooney, 10. Gene Bowers, 11. Stacey Brown, 12. Jillian Long, 13. Lonnie Behler, Sr., 14. Jason Kuhn, 15. Jonathan Tracey, 16. Todd Ahner, 17. Aaron Kromer, 18. Jamie Smith, 19. Cody Roth, 20. Lonnie Behler, Jr., 21. Steve Hoffman DNQ: Dan Freundt, Dennis Buss, Logan Boyer

Dirt Modified Feature Finish (15 Laps): 1. Kevin Graver, Jr., 2. Ricky Yetter, 3. JP Curry, 4. Mike Stofflet, 5. Billy Lowden, Jr., 6. Ray Deemer, 7. Aleia Geisler, 8. Billy Lasko, 9. Jeff Parker, 10. Jack Ely

Pro 4 Feature Finish (20 Laps): 1. Nick Baer, 2. Bobby Kibler, Sr., 3. Dave Chapman, 4. Cody Kohler, 5. Jake Kibler, 6. Bobby Kibler, Jr., 7. Joe Stangle, 8. Jesse Snyder, 9. Chad Miller, 10. Kailyn Beers, 11. Tyler Stangle

Hobby Stock Feature Finish (15 Laps): 1. Steve McDonough, 2. Jeff Biegley, 3. Shayne Geist, 4. Cody Geist, 5. Tim Oswald, 6. Rich Mutarelli, 7. Gunner Yost, 8. Alton Snyder, Jr., 9. Kevin Behler, 10. Shawn Hoffman, 11. Devin Gibson, 12. Corey Edelman, 13. Rob Wallace

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


October 2017


Upcoming Events

Twitter Feed


Bombers get creative with parade floats

40.8014826, -75.6101867

Some of Palmerton’...

Man faces charges for shooting his dog

40.8014826, -75.6101867

Charges have been...

Extension hosts annual dinner

40.7986942, -75.8104747

The Carbon County Ex...

Reader Photo Galleries