Log In

Reset Password

FTLL recognizes supporters who helped install wireless scoreboard

Franklin Township Little League's new wireless scoreboard at the Phifer Ice Dam Park field, recently was formally dedicated - giving the Little League officials the opportunity to thank volunteers and supporters.

The sign was donated by Jim Thorpe National Bank at a cost of approximately $10,000."The scoreboard was an upgrade to the park," said Ryan Wentz, president of the Franklin Township Athletic Association, last May when the scoreboard was installed."We're here to thank a lot of people who helped make this possible," said Wayne Wentz, former president and present volunteer.Plaques and certificates of appreciation were presented to all who helped with the project.The former sign was nearly 25 years old and didn't work very well. Underground wiring leads to the new scoreboard from the old scoreboard to power it.Assisting with installation were Robbie Cressley, Franklin Township road foreman, who used a loader to lift the sign; Wayne Gutwein and Tim Wolbach, representing Shawn Kresge Electric; Tony Fristick, Corey Deem, Larry Ahner, Rick Guyn, Chris Delgado, George Price, Robbie Cressley, Jerome Dotter, Ryan Wentz, Wayne Wentz. Also assisting with the project were Forest Inn Masonry, J.D. Eckman and Tim Wagner and sons Iron Works who installed the I-beams.

Gail Maholick/TIMES NEWS Franklin Township Little League's new wireless scoreboard at Phifer Ice Dam Park was recently dedicated. From left are, Cole Frycklund, Ryan Wentz, president of the Franklin Township Athletic Association; Olivia Frycklund, Wayne Wentz, former president; Rob Cressley, township roadmaster; Rick Guyn, coach; Ricky Getz of Forest Inn Masonry; his son, Levi Getz; Tony Fristick, coach; Larry Ahner, coach; Corey Deem, coach; Chris Delgado, coach; Shawn Kresge, Shawn Kresge Electric; Jason Barndt, coach; and Craig Zurn, president and CEO, Jim Thorpe National Bank. Also recognized were Roger Crum, George Price, Keith Hines and Tim Wagner.