Skip to main content

Pleasant Valley recognizes its top students

  • LINDA KOEHLER/TIMES NEWS The PVHS students that received music awards from band director, James DeVivo, right, are left to right: Madalyn Owermohle, Kaitlyn Siegfried, Chelsea Cummings, Danielle Strunk, Eric Galante.
    LINDA KOEHLER/TIMES NEWS The PVHS students that received music awards from band director, James DeVivo, right, are left to right: Madalyn Owermohle, Kaitlyn Siegfried, Chelsea Cummings, Danielle Strunk, Eric Galante.
Published June 03. 2011 05:12PM

"This is one of the best nights at Pleasant Valley when we recognize some of our finest students. They make us PV Proud," said Dr. Douglas Arnold, superintendent of Pleasant Valley School District at the school's 30th Annual Academic Awards program.

He thanked the students for bringing honor and prestige to themselves, their parents, family and to the school. He thanked the teachers and staff who helped the students to achieve their goals and accomplishments. And he thanked the school board for "standing tall and seeing to it that our students receive the well-rounded education that they do."

Senior James Patterson was named PV's 2011 Valedictorian. He was named to the Top 3 with an academic average of 104.25, Top 10, English AP, Anatomy and Physiology. Captain Derek Carter of the United States Army presented Patterson with an Army ROTC Scholarship in the amount of $181,401.50. He will be attending Lafayette College, Easton.

Brandon Bok was named PV's 2011 Salutatorian. He was also named to the Top 3 with an academic average of 104.74. He received honors in American Government, Yearbook, English AP and was in the Top 10. He was recognized for receiving a perfect SAT Math 2 score of 800 and will receive a National Merit Scholarship.

Monroe County Commissioner Theresa Merli remarked that the awards ceremony was a "wonderful event. It's obvious of the excellence recognized tonight. Looking back over 50 years and achieving good things, it was no accident, that these two young people have risen to your mission of Excellence in Education."

John Gress, principal of PVHS told the audience that thanks to the commitment to their community, two special people, Dr. Rose and Dr. Joe Mattioli, has donated $750,000 in scholarships since 1998 to each of the Monroe County high schools. This year, James Patterson received from the A. Mattioli Scholarship, $6,000 and Bok, $4,000.

Laura Aravena was named to the Top 3 with an academic average of 104.26 as well as being in the Top 10.

The other seven seniors who were named to the Top 10 Wall of Fame and received a plaque, a savings bond, and will have their name added to the Wall of Fame in the hallway at PVHS are: Samantha Phillips, Drew Borger, Michael Vargas, Madalyn Owermohle, Emily Larkin, Stephanie Stone, Bryan Baumgarter.

Each department establishes criteria and then selects outstanding students in each grade level. These awards are based on this year's achievements.

The other seniors who received recognition were:

*Dennis Arnold for perfect attendance

*Bryan Baumgarter, Economics

*Drew Borger, AP Calculus, Calculus 2, Problems and Statistics, Physics

*Kaitlin Brown, Art, Outstanding Overall Portfolio

*Stephanie Buck, Family and Conservation Science

*Arthur Chou, Metal I

*Stephanie Clark, Newspaper

*Jeremy Curatola, The Navy Inspirational Leadership Award

*Kayla Dorney, Yearbook

*Richard Forte, Air Force ROTC. Out of 15,000 applicants, only one person received full tuition and that was Forte

*William Gartrell, Newspaper

*Stephanie Gavilanes, Perfect Attendance

*Arielle Gomez, Yearbook

*Danielle Green, Family and Consumer Science

*Christina Heckelman, the Beth Paul Scholarship awarded from the Pleasant Valley Education Association. She will be attending Moravian College to major in Secondary Education/Spanish. She also received the Scholastic Excellence Award and the Principal's Award

*Allison Heckman, Yearbook

*Malik Krcic, Physical Education, National Society of the Sons of American Revolution

*Louis Krieger, Triangle Tech Scholarship in the amount of $7,300 to study in the field of electricity

*Jordan Krom, Yearbook

*Emily Larkin, Art

*Angela Leonardi, Business and the Senator David G. Argall Good Citizenship Award

*Alanna Liptak, Envirothon

*Melaney Livezey, Family and Consumer Science

* Victoria Massimino, Yearbook

*Paige McKinsey, Yearbook and the Principal's Award

*Jessica Meinhart, Newspaper

*Logan Niklas, Wood I

*Madalyn Owermohle, Band

*Frank Passalacqua, Newspaper

*Margaret Patterson, Yearbook

*Samantha Phillips, Yearbook, National Merit Scholarship and the Senator David G. Argall Good Citizenship Award

*Ellen Pieper, Monroe County Technical Institute

*Erick Quinteros, AP Calculus

*Daniel Sclafani, Music Excellence Band Award

*Emily Shafer, Yearbook

*Emily Skutnik, Physical Education

*Matt Solt, The Navy Outstanding Scholar Award

*Angela Taldone, Chorus

*Michael Vargas, Electricity

*Karli Williams, Art

*Tarik Williams, Principal's Award, Ray Crock McDonald's Recognition Award and Scholarship

Grade 11 Awards: Paige Band, English; Evelyn Barone, Envirothon; Angelina Carbone, Chorus; Elisa Entler, German IV; Alyssa Fama, Newspaper; Samantha Frable, German III; Marissa Gray, 20th Century Social Studies, English, Spanish AP, Top 3; Lauren Heckelman, AMC-12, AP Calculus, Calculus 2, Baush & Lomb, Top 3; Shirley Hochhauser, English; Schyler Jacobson, Physical Education; Jessica Klippel, MCTI; James Lavender, AP Calculus, Calculus 2; Kelsey Lazicki, Visual Media, Spanish I; Andrew Muse, Computer Science; Steven Perry, Wood II; Anthony Reyes, Business; Sarah Shillinger, Spanish IV; Brian Schoonmaker, 20th Century Social Studies, Chemistry, Top 3; Kaitlyn Siegfried, Band; Nicholas Stanovick, 20th Century Social Studies; Vincent Voulo, Newspaper; Kris Whalen, Envirothon; Stacy Wojy, Physical Education; Thomas Wojy, Environmental Science, Ecology, Envirothon.

Grade 10 Awards: Ashlee Anewalt, Spanish II; Andrew Atherton, Chorus; Brandon Burger, Biology; Nicholas Donatelli, AMC -10, Honors Algebra 2, Honors Trigonometry, Top 3; Christina Everett, Top 3; Emily Foster, English; Timothy Frehulfer, Health; Sezen Kowal, German I; Marissa Leonardi, German II; Shane Peechatka, Physical Education; Amber Phillips, MCTI; Victoria Romano, World History, English; Nicole Sarwar, Business, Spanish III; Evan Shibley, Honors Algebra 2, Honors Trigonometry, World History, Top 3; Tiara Smith, Newspaper, Nina Staats, Physical Education; Danielle Strunk, Band; Mackenzie Sweeney, Health.

Grade 9: Kristina Adams, English, Top 3; Emily Bhagwatprasad, Foundations of Consumer Science' Mykayla Biechy, Spanish I; Maria Biery, US History; Chelsea Cummings, Band; Mackenzie Dorney, Spanish 2; Eric Glanate, Band; Dan Heckman, Business; Courtney Kraus, Digital Photo; Dana McAllister, Physical Education, Honors Algebra 2, Top 3; Caitlyn McNulty, German I; Janelle Pastrana, Wood I; Patrick Rimple, Health, Earth Science, Top 3, Senator David G. Argall Good Citizenship Award; Ema Sabovic, Ceramic I; James Shank, Wood I; Lydia Shank, Chorus; Melissa Vargas, German II, Computer Science; Aracelis Velez, Health, English, Senator David G. Argall Good Citizenship Award; Joshua Weidenbaum, Chorus; Trevor Wilson, Honors Geometry; Austin Yoffredo, Physical Education, Freehand Drawing.

Mr. Gress congratulated all the students but also the parents.

"In this life we're faced with many challenges. There's no question we'll meet those challenges with the caliber of young people like these at PV," said Gress.

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


October 2017


Upcoming Events

Twitter Feed


Bombers get creative with parade floats

40.8014826, -75.6101867

Some of Palmerton’...

Man faces charges for shooting his dog

40.8014826, -75.6101867

Charges have been...

Extension hosts annual dinner

40.7986942, -75.8104747

The Carbon County Ex...

Reader Photo Galleries