Skip to main content

Marian holds student academic dinner

  • LIZ PINKEY/SPECIAL TO THE TIMES NEWS Rebecca Thomas, Daniel Lisella, and Victoria Vadyak (left to right) were among those students recognized at Marian Catholic High School's 21st annual academic and appreciation dinner, held at the school last week.
    LIZ PINKEY/SPECIAL TO THE TIMES NEWS Rebecca Thomas, Daniel Lisella, and Victoria Vadyak (left to right) were among those students recognized at Marian Catholic High School's 21st annual academic and appreciation dinner, held at the school last week.
Published May 15. 2010 09:00AM

Marian Catholic High School recently held its 21st annual academic and appreciation dinner. The invocation and benediction were provided by the Reverand Ron Minner.

Pat Morgans welcomed everyone to the event and Sister Bernard Agnes added her remarks later in the program.

The following students were recognized and presented with awards: Victoria Vadyak, the Frederick Douglas and Susan B Anthony Award; Connor Schleicher, the Bausch & Lomb Award; Amanda Ketusky, the George Eastman Young Leaders Awards and Scholarship.

Also, Christine Valente, the Xerox Award for Innovation and Information Technology; Briana O'Donnell, Hugh O'Brien Leadership Representative; Dylan Baranowsky, Jeanne Cannon, and Jessica McKinley, the Dale Carnegie Youth Advantage Program.

Also, Devin Parambo and Michael Mulligan, the Bishop's Catholic Scholars; Devin Parambo and James O'Connor, the Wendy's Heisman Scholarship; Kristen Halenar, the Summit Hill Lions Club Scholarship Award.

Also, Michael Mulligan, the Daughters of the American Revolution Good Citizenship Award; Julie Baran, the Prudential Spirit of Community Award Nominee; and Justin Huegel, the Phi Delta Kapp Award.

The following students were recognized for their achievements at the Pennsylvania Junior Academy of Science:

1st place, Theresa Patten, Christopher Ondish, Stephen Valente, Victoria Vetter, and Jessica Horlacher;

2nd place, Kimberly Wilson and Molly Balliet.

Theresa Patten and Christopher Ondish earned first places at the Pennsylvania Junior Science and Humanities Symposium. Stephen Valente also participated.

Alex Garber, Vincent Fital, Justin Huegel, Justin Jacobs, Michael Staffer, Brandon Dopira, Connor Schleicher, Joseph Meier, and Emma Boyle were members of the Scholastic Scrimmage team.

Emily Nerino, Chelsea Sheehan, Christina Leone, Mary Connors, Emmarose Boyle, Emily Burger, Katelyn Smulligan, Stephen Valente, Victoria Vetter, Molly Balliet, Tiffany Grutza, and Dominic Montero were members of the Mock Trial team.

Citizens' Bee team members included Connor Schleicher, Justin Huegal, Tim Miller, and Andrew Kelly.

Taylor Boyce, Christina Leone, Lauren Pupko, Erin Rehatchek, Sarah Sheehan, Marina Webb, Nina Arant, Michael Heffelfinger, Jessica McKinley, David Paul, Michael Legath, and Mary Connors were members of the "Marian Travelling Book Nook."

The "Create-an-Ad" team members included Megan Swetz, Sara Wisniewski, Chelsea Shaup, Ginger Howe, and Sara Gallagher.

Members of yearbook included Patrick Crowley, Rebecca DeSantis, Dana Dever, Katherine Dodson, Amberlynn Hunsinger, Kayla Merchlinsky, James O'Conner, Dylan Rush, Rebecca Thomas, Alyssa Tirpak, and Marina Webb.

The following were recognized for their participation in music:

Michael Mulligan, senior band member; Eric Faust, Michael Mulligan, and Rebecca Thomas, 4-year chorus members; Shane Mulligan, county band; Michael Mulligan, Katie Owens, Jessica McKinley, Eric Petterson, Rosie Sheridan, Miranda Milillo, Stephen Valente, Marissa Webb, and Shane Mulligan, Schuylkill County Chorus; Stephen Valente, District Chorus.

Also, John Damiter, Miranda Milillo, Shane Mulligan, and Christopher Postupack, Diocesan Band; and Eric Faust, Jessica McKinley, Michael Mulligan, Katie Ownes, Eric Petterson, Rosie Sheridan, Stephen Valente, and Marissa Webb, Diocesan Chorus

Rock music ministry members included Eric Faust, John Damiter, Matthew Kufrovich, Daniel Lisella, Michael Legath, Michael Mulligan, Katie Owens, David Paul, Kyle Garber, Jessica McKinley, Eric Petterson, Anthony Pilla Dylan Smarr, Rose Sheridan, Miranda Milillo, Stephen Valente Samantha Faust, Sabrina Krupko, Jessica Horlacher, Shane Mulligan, Robert O'Hazzo, and Christ Postupack.

Katie Owens, Dylan Rush, Nina Arant, Maria Oberto, and Ashley Shumski received the drama club award.

Daniel Lisella, Michael Heffelfinger, and Tyler Zawatski were recognized as chapel aides.

Sarah Connely, John Damiter, Cody Decker, Eric Faust, Katie Ferrello, Michelle Fetco, Kristen Halenar, Justin Huegel, Joseph Kloap, Daniel Lisella, Regina Marzen, Jillian Nilsson, Katie Owens, Abbey Owsinski, Theresa Patten, Lauren Pupko, Andrew Sherkness, Kayla Stanek, Michael Stauffer, and Nicholas Tristani were recognized as extraordinary ministers of the Eucharist.

Students were recognized for participating in the following organizations:

Media Crew - Bruce Balliet, Eric Faust, Alex Garber, Patrick Leitzel, Scott Nietz, Tyler Zimmerman, Brett Befano, Evan Bellizia, Kyle Garber, Robert Kelly, Anthony Damiano, Matthew Grega, Ryan Kanick, Paul Martin, and Anthony Pilla.

Student achievement workers - Taylor Boyce, Rosa Marchiano, Victoria Smith, Alyssa Tirpak, Marina Webb, Nina Curran, Kristina Czwakiel, Teirney Sugrue, Rhiannyn Elam, and Isabella Macoviak.

Desktop publishing - John Damiter, Ryan Engle, Robert Karman, Jacob Knipe, James O'Connor, Brian O'Donnel, David Paul, Dylan Rush, Emily Schilling, Rebecca Thomas, and Alyssa Tirpak.

Library aides - Dana Dever Amberlynn Hunsinger, Samantha Heine, Chelsea Piskorick.

Recognized as Marian student ambassadors were Eric Faust, Joseph Koloap, Emily Schilling, Nick Tristani, Cathleen Cataldo, Taylor Mele, Alexa Nemeth, Emily Nerino, Abbey Owsinski, Kathleen Reilly, Dominic Richards, Megan Rubino, Dylan Rush, and Victoria Vadyak; Eric Faust, Michele Fetco, Kristen Halenar, Justin Huegel, Patrick Leitzel, Nicholas Tristani, Erin Rehatchek, Cathleen Cataldo, Katie Collevechio, Brandon Dopira, Audrey Maff, Jessica McKinley, Taylor Mele, Alexa Nemeth, Sara Pisak, Tori Vadyak, Nicole Bechtel, Emma Boyle, Emily Burger, Joanna Butala, Jeanne Cannon, Emily Comensky, Alexis Keim, Madison Monaco, Victoria Vetter, Marissa Webb, Kimberly Wilson, Jessica DeLash, Anna Marie Dna, Samantha Faust, Jessica Horlacher, Patrick McGettigan, Kasey Rossell and Marykate Sherkness.

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


October 2017


Twitter Feed

Reader Photo Galleries