Skip to main content

Schuylkill League selects volleyball All-Star teams

Published December 24. 2010 05:00PM

Twenty TIMES NEWS area athletes recently earned spots on the Schuylkill League Volleyball All-Star team.

Leading the way for the local netters was Marian sophomore Marykate Sherkness, who received the highest recognition by being named the league's Division IV Player of the Year. Fillie teammates Rachel Krajcirik and Taylor Mele joined Sherkness on the Division IV first team.

Jim Thorpe's Brittany Holland and Tamaqua's Paige Baddick and Stacey Wallace were named to the Division I First Team.

Panther Valley's Amy Yusella, Lyndsay Kusko and Chrissy Micholik were selected to the Division II First Team.

Brittany Hinkle of Weatherly made the Division IV First Team..

Division I


Taylor Moyer (Sr., MH, Blue Mountain), Brittany Holland (Sr., OH, Jim Thorpe), Mimi Teter (Sr., Libero, North Schuylkill), Kelsie Kramer (Sr., MH, North Schuylkill), Sasha Thomas (So., MH, Pottsville), Megan Powers (Jr., Setter, Pottsville), Paige Baddick (Sr., Setter, Tamaqua), Stacey Wallace (Sr., MH, Tamaqua)


Brandi Moyer (Jr., Setter, Blue Mountain), Jessica Moyer (Jr., MH, Blue Mountain), Megan Temple (Sr., Setter, North Schuylkill), Shelby Weikel (Sr., Opp., North Schuylkill), Danielle Coogan (Sr., Libero, Pottsville), Taylor Roos (Jr., OH, Pottsville), Sarah Paluck (Jr., OH, Tamaqua), Sarah Lesisko (Jr., OH, Tamaqua)

Player of the Year

Hayley Dunkel (Sr., MH, Pottsville)

Division II


Jessica Howard (Sr., MH, Halifax), Hayley Miller (Sr., S/Opp., Halifax), Aloni Mauser (Sr., Libero, Halifax), Amy Yusella (Jr., MH, Panther Valley), Lyndsay Kusko (Sr., Libero, Panther Valley), Chrissy Micholik (Jr., OH/Setter, Panther Valley), Rachel Troxell (Jr., MH, Pine Grove)


Gabrielle Reed (Sr., Setter, Halifax), Stephanie Kachelries (Jr., OH, Panther Valley), Deanna Focht (Jr., MH, Panther Valley), Brittanie Wolfe (Sr., OH, Pine Grove), Toni Dissinger (Sr., Libero, Pine Grove), Jena Leffler (Sr., DS, Pine Grove), Catherine Donnely (Sr., Setter, Schuylkill Haven), Lauren Rhody (Sr., Opp., Schuylkill Haven), Nikki Deitrich (Sr., OH, Upper Dauphin), Kayleigh Ney (Jr., OH, Upper Dauphin)

Co-Players of the Year

Maddie Daubert (Sr., Setter, Pine Grove), Barbara Dimon (Jr., MH, Pine Grove)

Division III


Molly Loftus (Jr., OH, Lourdes Regional), Jessica Demcher (Sr., Setter, Minersville), Marina Davis (Sr., OH/MH, Minersville), Bianca Bixler (Jr., MH/OH, Tri-Valley), Maddy Maurer (Sr., OH, Tri-Valley)


Sarah Stone (Sr., OH, Millersburg), Trista Renninger (Sr., OH/MH, Minersville), Heidi Griffith (So., Setter/OH, Minersville), Connor Destefano (Sr., OH, Minersville), Makenzie Stutzman (Jr., Setter/MH, Tri-Valley), Rayne Newswanger (Jr., OH, Tri-Valley), Kayla Rebuck (Sr., Setter, Tri-Valley), Emily Artz (Sr., MH, Williams Valley), Camille Koppenhaver (Sr., Setter, Williams Valley), Hillary Nolen (Sr., Setter, Williams Valley)

Player of the Year

Samantha Sweinhart (Sr., MH, Tri-Valley)

Division IV


Shelby Kane (Sr., MH, Mahanoy Area), Rachel Krajcirik (Sr., Setter, Marian), Taylor Mele (Sr., Libero/OH, Marian), Courtney Field (Sr., Setter, Nativity), Emily Kaldeas (Jr., MH, Nativity), Emily Grube (Sr., OH, Nativity), Tori Dziedziak (Jr., Libero, Shenandoah Valley), Brittany Hinkle (Sr., OH, Weatherly)


Kellie Linkchorst (So., MH, Mahanoy Area), Tori Vadyak (Sr., MH, Marian), Kathleen Reilly (Sr., MH, Marian), Cathleen Cataldo (Libero, Marian), Elizabeth Shollenberger (Jr., OH, Nativity), Jessica Jones (Fr., Libero, Nativity), Megan Curry (So., Opp., Nativity), Elysha Bolshi (Sr., OH, Shenandoah Valley), Meghan James (Jr., OH, Shenandoah Valley), Molly Carduff (Sr., OH, Shenandoah Valley), Rachel Heister (Sr., Setter, Weatherly), Alyssa Kephart (Sr., OH, Weatherly), Samantha Strizak (Sr., MH/Setter, Weatherly)

Player of the Year

Marykate Sherkness (So., OH, Marian)

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


October 2017


Twitter Feed

Reader Photo Galleries