Skip to main content

Tamaqua Area School District appoints extracurricular advisors

Published August 19. 2010 05:00PM

With the start of the 2010-2011 school year coming up, the Tamaqua Area School District's Board of Education made a number of appointments during its monthly meeting Tuesday evening.

The board approved the following persons for extracurricular positions.

Mary Hankey, Tamaqua - substitute coordinator

Mark E. Beltz - auditorium manager/stage manager/audio visual manager, assistant band director, elementary band director, middle school band director;

John F. Potlunas - Raider Band director;

Aimee Biasi, New Ringgold - Raider Band silk advisor;

Jennifer DiSante - elementary spelling club advisor, middle school academic club co-advisor;

Samantha Yachera - elementary choral director;

John Buglio - middle school choral director, high school choral director

Kristine Shellhammer - middle school drama club advisor

Corey Smith - middle school Lego advisor

Maria L. Campomizzi - middle school math counts advisor

Maura Streisel - middle school National Honor Society advisor

Alisa Kemmerer - middle school academic club co-advisor

Megan Frantz - middle school student council advisor

Amanda Woodring - middle school yearbook advisor

Eric Lech - high school academic competition team advisor

Roseann Weinrich - high school biology club advisor, Senior Class/commencement advisor

Kristen Boyle - chemistry club advisor

Janet Smoldon, New Ringgold - drama club advisor

Kristen Klingaman - environmental club advisor

Randa Hull - French club advisor

Karen Campomizzi - Freshman Class advisor

Mary Ruth Taylor - German club advisor

Michael A. Sakash - Junior Class advisor

Krystal Schmauch - leadership council advisor

Lori Remmel - media production advisor

Marietta Kotch - National Honor Society advisor

Lawrence Capozzelli - physics and engineering club advisor

Thorn Devlin, Tamaqua - ski club advisor

Tracy A. Miller - Sophomore Class advisor

Jose Urquiza - Spanish Club advisor

Stephen Ulicny - student government advisor.

Tenure granted

The board also presented professional status, or tenure, to the following persons who completed three years of service with satisfactory ratings: James Betz, Vanessa A. Boyle, Christopher Charest, Joseph E. Holland, Rebecca M. Luna, Elizabeth J. Marakovits, John Matulevich, Diane Michalik and Denise Washinski.

Nancy Jones, who retired as a teacher from West Penn Elementary School, was added to the substitute teachers list, as were Noreen B. Hobbs, Pottsville, and Tavia Bachert, Tamaqua.

The following were appointed as department chairpersons for the school year: Kristine Shellhammer, middle school language arts; Barry Wargula, middle school mathematics; Edward J. Mariano, middle school science; Barbara Leiby, middle school social studies; Kathy Mansell, middle school special education; Thomas I. Kanger, high school business education; Cathy Miorelli, high school extended services; Sharon Chromiak, fine and practical arts; Melissa Day, language arts; Karen Campomizzi, mathematics; Ellen Troxell, health and physical education; Mark Solon, science; Connie Segedy, social studies; and Mary Ruth Taylor, world language.

Student service

manager hired

The board hired Amanda Gallagher, Tamaqua, as student services program manager, at a salary of $12 per hour. The position is part ot the district's alternative education program.

Amanda Zuber, Whitehall, was hired as a regular part-time elementary teacher at Bachelor's Step one, $36,027.

The resignation of Jacqueline Nalesnik as a part-time paraprofessional was approved, retroactive to Aug. 11. Kathy L. Gogg, Jim Thorpe, was hired as a part-time paraprofessional, as highly-qualified status, at $7,75 per hour.

The request of Eric Lech for an unpaid leave of absence Sept. 23-24 was approved.

The following persons were approved for the middle school 21st Century/MAGIC summer program: Bill Kimber, coordinator, $25 per hour; Lauren Elston, Jay Daubert, Amanda Woodring and Trishia Maksimik, teachers, at $22 per hour; and Celeste Franko and Kathy Murphy, aides, at $9.50 per hour.

The resignation of Liza Kirklosky, cafeteria worker, was approved. The request of Rose Marie Inama, part-time cafeteria worker, for an unpaid leave of absence from Oct. 18-22, was approved.

Classified Ads

Event Calendar


October 2017


Twitter Feed

Reader Photo Galleries