Tamaqua's tennis victory highlighted scholastic sports action on Monday.



Tamaqua defeated Pottsville, 6-1, in a non-league match.

The Blue Raiders (2-3) picked up a sweep in singles play as Sarah Zoba, Maddie Dolinsky, Carly Fenstermacher, Beth Kistler and Allison Pederson posted victories.

Tamaqua 6, Pottsville 1


Sarah Zoba (T) def. Rachel Shields, 4-6, 6-1, 10-5; Maddie Dolinsky (T) def. Rebecca Ohnmacht, 6-1, 6-4; Carly Fenstermacher (T) def. Caitlin Croley, 3-6, 6-2, 10-8; Beth Kistler (T) def. Laura Delago, 6-4, 6-3; Allison Pederson (T) def. Brooke Hanzok, 6-1, 6-1.


Gabbi Holley/Rachel Salata (P) def. Emma Osenbach/Maddie Davis, 8-6; Amy Gardiner/Brooke Dehart (T) def. Sara Williams/Katrina Whalen, 8-6.

ES South-Pleasant Vy.

The Bears (2-1, 0-1) picked up a pair of doubles wins and just one victory in singles while dropping a MVC match to the Cavaliers, 4-3.

Kara Urland won at No. 3 singles, while the teams of Ashley Coleman and Amanda Hoag, along with Andrea Nale and Emily Borger picked up the doubles wins for PV.

ES South 4, Pleasant Valley 3


Brittany Poje (ESS) def. Madison Olexson 6-0, 6-0; Kaitlyn Poje (ESS) def. Emily Thek 6-0, 6-1; Kara Urland (PV) def. Sarah Mithani 6-3, 3-6, 6-1.


Ashley Coleman/Amanda Hoag (PV) def. Kayla Mercado/Krystalynn Perotti 8-4; Danielle Catrillo/Monica Clarke (ESS) def. Sarina Tufano 3-6, 6-4, 6-2; Janet Ro/Amanda Jackson (ESS) def. Paola Mieles/Monica Jarog 7-5, 2-6, 6-4; Andrea Nale/Emily Borger (PV) def. Liz Slama/Nadia Hussein 6-1, 6-2.



Moravian Academy earned a convincing victory over Palmerton and Notre Dame GP on the course. Moravian totaled a final score of 392, Notre Dame GP 438, and Palmerton 523.

Moravian's Christian Haldeman had the low score with a 74.

Casey Cook shot a 100 to lead Palmerton.

Moravian Academy (392)

Christian Haldeman 74, Jack Reilly 75, Tim Wolak 78, Colin McQueen 80, Cory Haldeman 85.

Notre Dame GP (438)

Kyle Buchman 79, Paul Roth 84, Zach Luke 88, Andrew Valkenberg 89, Connor McGuire 98

Palmerton (523)

Casey Cook 100, Charles Debski 101, Tyler Grammes 103, John Frace 104, Damien Fink 115.