The Tamaqua Area School District Board of Education once again selected Larry A. Wittig as president during its organization meeting for 2011 Tuesday night.

Wittig has been Tamaqua Area board president since first being elected to the position in 1995. He was the lone candidate nominated to the post.

Wittig is also a member of the Pennsylvania State Board of Education.

Dr. Thomas A. Rottet remains the board's vice president following the reorganization. Both Wittig and Rottet were reappointed by unanimous 8-0 votes. Director Mark D. Rother was absent.

Both appointments were for one-year terms. The board's other officers are Robert W. Betz, secretary, and Daniel E. Schoener, treasurer.

After reassuming his presidency, Wittig announced the board's committee appointments, which were primarily kept the same as this year.

Rottet remains as chairman of the auxiliary committee, with Bryan W. Miller and Rother as members.

Eileen Meiser will chair the education committee, switching with Wanda Zuber, who remains a member, as does Wittig.

The finance committee remains the same and will be chaired by Schoener, with Betz and Aaron R. Frantz as members.

The uniform committee remains intact, with Schoener as chairman and Rottet and Zuber as members.

One committee that was changed was the hearing committee. Zuber replaces Meiser as chair, and Rottet replaces Rother. Meiser remains a member. Wittig and Miller are now alternate members, replacing Betz and Zuber.

Rottet will once again be chairman of the health and welfare trust.

Betz will serve as the board's legislative awareness representative, as well as Pa. School Board Association, Schuylkill Intermediate Unit and Tamaqua Public Library rep.

Wittig represents the school district on Schuylkill County's Earned Income Tax committee, with Connie Ligenza, the district's business manager, as an alternate.

Rottet will be one of the district's two representatives to the Eastern Schuylkill Recreation Commission; athletics director Michael Hromyak is the other.

The board will once again hold its committee meetings on the second Tuesday of each month at 7 p.m. Regular board meetings will be held on the third Tuesday at 7:30 p.m. All meetings are held in the large group instruction room of Tamaqua Area Middle School.

Computers bought

In other business, the board approved the purchase of 75 "thin client" computers as a cost of $14,999.25 from CDWG, as per a PEPM.CoStars cooperative purchasing contract.

Kyle Smith, Nesquehoning, was appointed as a volunteer technician in district's technology department.

The board also met in a closed executive session for legal and personnel matters.