Monday, April 27, 2015

News Makers

Friday, January 17, 2014

Evan S. Krum of Schnecks-ville graduated magna cum laude from Kutztown University on Dec. 14 with a bachelor of arts degree in communication studies with a concentration in public relations.

He was the undergraduate speaker at the commencement.

Evan also holds two associate degrees from Lehigh Carbon Community College and is a graduate of Parkland High School, where he was the class president for the four high school years. He is pursuing an OCS appointment in the United States Coast Guard.

Friday, January 17, 2014

Sarah Mary Tucker of Lansford was named to the dean's list of Kutztown University for the fall semester. She is majoring in elementary/early childhood education.

A 2013 graduate of Panther Valley High School, she is the daughter of John and Lisa Tucker of Lansford and the granddaughter of Mary Tucker and the late Edward Tucker.

She is also the granddaughter of the late William and Sara Doris of Tamaqua.

Friday, January 17, 2014

Air Force Staff Sgt. Audrey A. Kreimoyer has been named Outstanding Noncommissioned Officer of the Quarter for October-December 2013. She is a public health technician with the 96th Aerospace Medical Squadron at Eglin Air Force Base in Florida.

Her selection was based on exemplary duty performance, job knowledge, leadership qualities and significant self-improvement.

In March, Staff Sgt. Kreimoyer will be assigned to the 51st Fighter Wing at Osan Air Base, South Korea.

Friday, January 17, 2014

Kayla Stanek, daughter of Frank and Michelle Stanek, Summit Hill, has been named to the dean's list for the fall 2013 semester at Kutztown University. Kayla, a 2010 graduate of Marian Catholic High School, is a senior majoring in elementary education. Her GPA for the semester was a 4.0.

At Kutztown Kayla is one of the coordinators of campus events. She is also a campus tour guide and a member of the dance team.

Friday, January 17, 2014

Kelsey Louise Burkett, daughter of Brenda and Dr. Richard Martin of North-ampton, and Kimberlee and Gerald Burkett of Tamaqua, graduated from St. Luke's School of Nursing on Dec. 12. She received her diploma in nursing and was pinned by her mother, Brenda, who is an alumnus of the program.

Thursday, January 16, 2014

Andrew Tucker of Lansford graduated with honors on Dec. 14 from Misericordia University in Dallas. He graduated cum laude with a 3.68 GPA, receiving his bachelor of health science degree, with a minor in health care management.

While at Misericordia Andrew was a member of the track and field team. In 2011 and 2012 he qualified and competed in the MAC Finals in the hammer throw.

He will continue his graduate school work at Misericordia where he will begin study in their doctorate of physical therapy program.

Friday, December 27, 2013

Army National Guard Pvt. William J. Kattner has graduated from Basic Combat Training at Fort Leonard Wood, Waynesville, Mo.

During the nine weeks of training, the soldier received instruction in drill and ceremony, weapons, rifle marksmanship qualification, bayonet combat, chemical warfare, field training and tactical exercises, marches, military courtesy, military justice, physical fitness, first aid, Army history, traditions and core values.

Kattner is a 2006 graduate of Carbon Career & Technical Institute, Jim Thorpe.

Friday, December 27, 2013

Two local students were among those who recently graduated in the first class from the entry-level Doctor of Physical Therapy program at Misericordia University in Dallas. They are Emily Getz, Kunkletown, and Ashlee Zeigler, Weatherly.

The third annual winter commencement ceremony took place in the Anderson Sports and Health Center on campus.

Friday, December 13, 2013

Shannon Sarosky, daughter of John and Susan Sarosky, Weatherly, has been named Senior of the Month for November at Weatherly Area High School.

Shannon is the co-captain of the girls' volleyball team, the president of the yearbook committee, and secretary of the Weatherly Area High School's chapter of the National Honor Society. She is also involved in dual enrollment courses, Hazleton Junior Leadership, and the Hazleton CAN-DO Student board of directors.

Friday, December 13, 2013

Dominique Adamczyk, daughter of Leann and Brian Miller, Weatherly, and the late Michael Adamczyk, has been named Senior of the Month for October at Weatherly Area High School.

Dominique has lettered in girls' varsity basketball and softball, and is a member of the Weatherly Area High School's chapter of the National Honor Society. She is involved in yearbook, SPARC, Teens Against Tobacco Use, and dual enrollment courses.