Friday, April 18, 2014

News Makers

Tuesday, January 19, 2010

Ashley Valentine, daughter of Beth Englert of Tamaqua, has been named to the Dean's List for the Fall semester at Penn State University's Schuyl-kill Campus. She earned a 3.62 grade point average while pursuing a degree in the Nursing field.

Tuesday, January 19, 2010

Jodi L. Kamant, a 2005 graduate of Tamaqua Area High School, recently graduated from Kutztown University on Dec. 19, 2009.

She student taught the fall semester in the Hamburg and Schuylkill Haven Area School Districts and attained a 4.0 GPA.

She graduated with a Bachelor of Science degree in elementary education with a concentration in psychology.

She graduated with high honors (magna cum laude).

She is the is the daughter of Deborah Kamant and Michael Hartz of Tamaqua.

Tuesday, January 19, 2010

Sierra Volkert, a seventh grade student at Ss. Peter and Paul Catholic School, Lehighton, won the school-level competition of the National Geographic Bee held Jan. 12 and a chance at a $25,000 college scholarship. The school-level Bee, at which 10 student finalists answered oral questions, was the first round in the 22nd Annual National Geographic Bee. Sierra advances to the next level of competition, a written exam to determine state competitors.

Tuesday, January 19, 2010

Mariana Zahora, daughter of Bill and Gail Zahora of West Penn Township, has been named to the dean's list for the fall semester at the University of New Haven, West Haven, CT.

A 2006 graduate of Tamaqua Area High School, Mariana earned a 3.75 grade point average, majoring in accounting. She and her parents have been invited to the 2010 dean's list Breakfast, which honors student athletes who have attained the dean's list status during the prior year.

Monday, January 18, 2010

Dana Jane Henninger of Summit Hill graduated Magna Cum Laude from Kutztown University on December 19 with a bachelor of science degree in art education. She is a 2005 graduate of Panther Valley High School. Dana is the daughter of Earl T. Henninger of Summit Hill and Sheree Grant of Winter Park, Fla.

She is also the granddaughter of Betsy Henninger of Summit Hill and the late Earl L. and Adrienne Sobelsky of Levittown and the late William Sobelsky.

She has a brother, Roy, who will graduate from the University of Florida in the summer of 2010.

Monday, January 18, 2010

Josh DeBellas, a second year student at King's College, Wilkes-Barre was named to the dean's list for the fall semester with a GPA of 4.0.

A 2008 graduate of Tamaqua Area High School, DeBellas has been consistently on the dean's list. He is a biology major in the pre-dental program.

He is the son of Donald and Ingrid DeBellas, New Ringgold.

Monday, January 18, 2010

Gregory Steigerwalt, a junior in the A.J. Palumbo School of Business Administration, has been named to the fall 2009 dean's list at Duquesne University. The dean's list recognizes full-time students who have maintained at least a 3.5 grade point average on a 4.0 scale.

Steigerwalt, who is working toward dual majors in finance and investment marketing, has been a member of both the Phi Eta Sigma National Honor Society and the National Scholars Honor Society since 2008.

Monday, January 18, 2010

John A. Stanko was awarded a Ph.D. in organic chemistry from Duke University in Durham, N.C. on Sept. 1, 2009.

His dissertation involved both the methodology of 1,3-dipolar cycloaddition reactions and the total synthesis of the sugar substitute, Monatin.

He is a 1999 graduate of Panther Valley High School. He earned a bachelor of science degree in chemistry from Moravian College, Bethlehem, in 2003.

Dr. Stanko is currently teaching organic chemistry as part of the instructional staff at Duke University.

Thursday, January 14, 2010

Nicole Cox of Nesquehoning attained dean's list at Kutztown University. Her GPA for the fall semester of her junior year was 4.0. She plans on graduating in 2011 with a degree in Elementary Education concentrating in reading. She is a 2007 graduate of Panther Valley High School. She is the daughter of Holly and John McCole and Bill and Tammy Weaver, all of Nesquehoning.

Wednesday, January 13, 2010

Trey A. Nenow, a 2008 graduate of Palmerton Area High School, has been named to the dean's list for the fall semester at Lycoming College, with a 3.9 GPA.

He is pursuing a double major in mathematics and Spanish and a minor in philosophy.

He is the son of Deborah A. and William J. Nenow, Jr. of Palmerton.