Monday, February 27, 2017

Local News

Sunday, April 6, 2014

PHILADELPHIA (AP) — Philadelphia police believe a 2-year-old got hold of a loaded gun in a bedroom and fired the shot that killed an 11-year-old sister.

Police say the fatal bullet struck the girl's shoulder and then traveled to her chest.

Lt. John Walker says the mother was home Saturday morning with four children in a master bedroom. Police say the shooting occurred when she left the room at about 10 a.m.

Police believe a male friend had brought the gun to the house that day.

Sunday, April 6, 2014

Some U.S. House races of interest in Pennsylvania:

—In the heavily Democratic 13th District, which include parts of Philadelphia, four Democrats are seeking the congressional seat being vacated by Democratic Rep. Allyson Schwartz, who is running for governor.

Sunday, April 6, 2014

PHILADELPHIA (AP) — The Phillies' home opener against Milwaukee on Monday has been postponed because of expected inclement weather.

The game has been rescheduled for Tuesday at 4:05 p.m. Tickets for Monday will be honored Tuesday.

The forecast Monday calls for heavy rain throughout the day.

Kyle Kendrick is slated to pitch for Philadelphia, while Kyle Lohse is scheduled to start for the Brewers.

The Phillies are playing at the Cubs on Sunday, while Milwaukee is at Bosto

Saturday, April 5, 2014

St. Luke's Miners Hospital is sponsoring a series of free health talks for the communities served by the hospital. The seminars are designed to provide information on a variety of health topics.

The first session is scheduled for April 7 and will focus on exercise and heart disease risks. Guest speaker will be Joseph Paluck, exercise physiologist.

Saturday, April 5, 2014

Carbon County officials want to shine light on a few big problems in the county.

On Friday, April 25, the fifth annual Legislative Breakfast, sponsored by the Interagency Council of Carbon County and the Child and Family Collaborative Board, will discuss the drug and alcohol problem in the communities and state. The event is a bipartisan gathering aimed at helping the county agencies better serve the people.

Saturday, April 5, 2014
AMY MILLER/TIMES NEWS PHOTOS Pam Fludgate, center, an owner of The Mansion House of Summit Hill, stands with James Witherow, left, and restaurant chef and manager Barry Riegel, behind the decades-old bar in the new restaurant in Summit Hill. The bar, as well as many of the other original characteristics of the 112-year-old building, were preserved by the Fludgates while renovating the building.

On the west side of Summit Hill sits a 112-year-old mansion.

Its red brick exterior protects the rich history that has settled into every crevice of the building.

If the walls could talk, they would tell tales of family, the coal mining era, Prohibition and businesses from generations ago.

Now, another family is writing a new chapter into the building's story by reopening it as a restaurant.

The present

Saturday, April 5, 2014

A ribbon cutting and grand opening of the newly refurbished Jim Thorpe Visitors Center at the Old Mauch Chunk Train Station, 2 Lehigh Ave., Jim Thorpe, will be held at 5:30 p.m. Thursday, April 17. Carbon Chamber and Economic Development and Pocono Mountain Visitors Bureau invites everyone to attend this networking event. Light refreshments will be available.

The ribbon cutting will take place at 6 p.m.

Renovations on the Pocono Mountain Visitors Bureau's visitor center began in January.

Saturday, April 5, 2014

Representatives from Walker and West Penn townships will be meeting with state Department of Environmental Protection officials to flush out what needs to be done with their joint Act 537 plan.

Ron Madison, an engineer with Rettew Associates, submitted the plan in October of 2013. DEP kicked it back Dec. 9, requesting 10 corrections.

The Rettew plan addresses wildcat sewers, which are unpermitted sewer lines that discharge untreated sewage, and the lack of proper sewage treatment in four main service areas: Andreas, south Tamaqua, Clamtown/Reynolds and Snyders.

Saturday, April 5, 2014

Carbon County Friends of Animals may soon have a new home.

On Friday, the Carbon County Area Vocational Technical School Authority voted 3-0 to award the bid for the sale of the Carbon Career & Technical Institute adult education building at 77 W. 13th St., Jim Thorpe, to CCFOA. The nonprofit organization submitted the sole bid for the building last week of $260,105.

Palmerton representative Thomas Schmidt was not at the meeting and Panther Valley currently has no voting member on the board due to the resignation of Wayne Fritzinger.

Saturday, April 5, 2014
TERRY AHNER/TIMES NEWS Hailey Helmer, 10, of Nesquehoning, poses for a picture with the Easter Bunny recently at the Aquashicola Fire Company. Hailey is the daughter of Jason and Sharon Helmer.

Cousins Hadlee Lake, 6; Alex Kuneck, 8; and Harper Lake, 3, of Palmerton, recently had their pictures taken at the Aquashicola Fire Company. The event was sponsored by the Palmerton Area High School Class of 1972.