Sunday, October 4, 2015

Local News

Friday, June 8, 2012

Norman Burger, president of the Polk Township Historical Society, said Chestnuthill is working on the 250th anniversary. Chestnuthill includes Eldred, Ross and Polk townships because they were broken off from Chestnuthill. A letterhead was approved at the last anniversary meeting. It contains the logos from the four townships.

"We talked about a variety of projects for the book," he said at the June 4 Polk meeting.

A list presented has 29 items that could be covered. He also brought the beginnings and some completed stories on a number of subjects.

Friday, June 8, 2012

Carbon County commissioners on Thursday approved a number of salary changes:

In the Sheriff's Office, they changed the pay rate of one civil process clerk from $11.36 an hour to $10.40 an hour, and the rate of one deputy sheriff from $12.77 per hour to $12.04 an hour.

In the Area Agency on Aging, they extended the duration of one limited term aging care manager II from Jan. 1 June 30 to Jan. July 31.

In the Children and Youth Services agency, they changed the rate of one county caseworker II from $14.64 an hour to $15.08 an hour.

Friday, June 8, 2012

Weatherly Area High school has named its top 10 students:

1. Alicia Marie Panzarella, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Carl Panzarella. Alicia is planning on attending Millersville University in the fall. Activities: National Honor Society, German National Honor Society, Interact Club, Student Forum, basketball, volleyball, chorus, Math Team, baseball statistician, FBLA, SGA, Envirothon Team, Partners in Education and school musicals.

Friday, June 8, 2012

Meed's United Methodist Church, 126 West Catawissa St., Nesquehoning, will offer free hair cuts for children on Saturday, June 9 from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m.

Friday, June 8, 2012

The 5th annual West End Rotary 5k Bear Run event will take place on Sunday, June 10 at Pleasant Valley High School in Brodheadsville. Race time is 9 a.m. Registration is at 8 a.m.

Awards will be given to the top overall male and female finisher as well as to the top three finishers in eight age groups. There will also be awards to the top three walkers.

Friday, June 8, 2012

Carbon County state legislators Sen. John Yudichak and Rep. Doyle Heffley today congratulated the borough of Lansford on its nomination to be included on the National Register of Historic Places.

"As a proud son and grandson of coal miners, I have a deep appreciation for the borough of Lansford and its place in coal mining history," Yudichak said. "This is a great honor for a borough that has played an essential part in the growth and development of the Commonwealth and I hope that being added to the National Register will provide a boost to local tourism."

Friday, June 8, 2012

Left, Raymond Pasqua, 11 of Brodheadsville and Wayne Jacobs, 11, Kresgeville, were fingerprinted by Pennsylvania State Police Trooper Carrie Gula from Fern Ridge barracks at the Western Pocono Women's Club's Safety Fair, held at the Chestnuthill Township Park.

Friday, June 8, 2012
VICTOR IZZO/SPECIAL TO THE TIMES NEWS Anticipating an exciting running of the Weatherly Hill Climb this weekend are, from left, Larry Palmer, Weatherly Casting and Machine; Timmy Williams and Tim Williams, TJ's One Stop Exxon gas station, Weatherly; Beverly Cogan, National Penn Bank, Weatherly; Weatherly Mayor Tom Connors; Joe Cyburt, town councilman and president of the Weatherly Hill Climb Association; Janet Gettig, Weatherly Hill Climb Association member; and Hill Climb volunteers, Jared Frye, Ryan Hoffman, Matt Hoegg and Tyler Fisher.

This weekend marks the 51st year of the running of the Weatherly Hill Climb on the outskirts of the town.

Drivers will be coming from all over the East Coast, the New England states, and the Midwest to challenge the hill in Weatherly which is one of the most difficult courses to run.

On both Saturday and Sunday, there will be racing from 9 a.m. until 4 p.m.

After the completion of the hill climb events on Sunday, trophies will be handed out to the drivers about 4 p.m.

Friday, June 8, 2012

Lehighton Area School District announces the elementary Students of the Month of April.

At East Penn Elementary School, students selected were kindergarten, Mrs. Betz - Madyson Moser-Bergdahl; first grade, Mrs. Bruch - Katelyn Schlier and Mrs. Zerbe - Isaiah Szozda; second grade, Mrs. Biery - Nicholas Hrusovsky and Mrs. Bonser - Taylor Mickley; third grade, Mrs. Snyder - Jazeyen Simmons and Miss Wassmer - Angelina Buchert; and fourth grade, Mrs. Breiner - Andrew Eisenhardt and Mrs. Kattner - Avery Mulroy.

Friday, June 8, 2012

The top three students in the Tamaqua Class of 2012 were presented with the 2012 Morgan Foundation Awards before the graduation ceremony on June 1. The academic awards were established by the Morgan Foundation and provide each of the three students with $5,000. Pictured are: Stephen Toth, Tamaqua Area High School Principal; award winners Gabrielle Rebecca Minehan, Anthony John Iacoviello and Kelsey Grace Patrick; and Carol Makuta, Tamaqua Area Superintendent.