Tuesday, September 16, 2014

Local News

Tuesday, July 12, 2011

Against the recommendations of the Mahoning Township Planning Commission, township supervisors last night voted 4-0 with Supervisor George Stawnyczyj absent to move forward with the amendments to the zoning ordinance's building height regulation as it was redrafted by the supervisors earlier this year. At issue was the height of residential and commercial buildings and how this height was to be measured.

Tuesday, July 12, 2011

The West Penn Township board of supervisors focused mainly on road and sewer issues at Monday evening's meeting at the municipal building.

Street signs are being fixed, pavement is being patched and basic maintenance is continuing on various township roads such as Dairy Road, Rabbit Run and Golf Road. According to the board, however, residents have complained that proper measures are not being taken to fix potholes.

Tuesday, July 12, 2011

Two Summit Hill residents, living in two different parts of the town, told the borough council last night that sewage is periodically backing up into their basements.

John Evans of Walter Street said he has had the problem occur on about four different occasions.

Debbie Ziegler of East Amidon Street said her problem has been happening since about February.

The council has been working on addressing Ziegler's problem, but so far hasn't been able to find the cause of the back-up.

Evans said on his street, there are other neighbors in a similar situation.

Tuesday, July 12, 2011

Another motorcyclist was killed in a crash in Schuylkill County on Sunday.

State police at Schuylkill Haven said Charles Kojo Agei-Kyeremeh Jr., 20, of Lebanon, died in a crash that occurred about 2:50 p.m. at 430 Good Spring Road (SR125), locally known as "The Good Spring Stretch", in Porter Township.

Troopers said Agei-Kyeremeh was westbound operating a 2008 Suzuki GSXR while three other cyclists were legally parked along Good Spring Road in a paved driveway of Natural Soil Products.

Tuesday, July 12, 2011

Traffic was backed up and one person was injured in Tamaqua around 8:30 a.m. today following a two vehicle accident that occurred in front of Access Services on Center Street, SR309. Reportedly, while driving a tan 1987 Chrysler Town and Country station wagon north on SR309, Paul Samuels of Slatington, drove into the path of a dark green 2011 Jeep Liberty driven by Charlotte Bubon of Coaldale. Bubon was pulling out of the Access Services parking lot when her Jeep was struck by the Chrysler.

Tuesday, July 12, 2011

A Mahoning Township man has been arrested and faces numerous charges following an alleged burglary and violent incident Sunday afternoon.

The suspect reportedly was under the influence of bath salts.

Zachary William Hoffman, 23, of the 700 block of North First St., Lehighton, was placed in Carbon County Prison after being arraigned before District Judge Casimir Kosciolek of Lansford. Kosciolek listed bail at $5,000.

At one point, police said Hoffman tossed a wrench set in their direction which went through the window of a residence.

Tuesday, July 12, 2011

The mall parking lot in Walnutport was filled with cars as people used its vantage point above the recreation fields to watch the fireworks that closed the Walnutport Playground Association carnival this past weekend.

Tuesday, July 12, 2011
ANDY LEIBENGUTH/TIMES NEWS Santa Claus with 20 biker elves prepare to depart on their Schaeffer's Harley-Davidson's Christmas in July Toy Run.

Santa and moree than 20 other biker elves rode through Schuylkill County's countryside during Schaeffer's Harley-Davidson's Fifth Annual Christmas in July Toy Run that resulted on over 100 new toys to benefit Access Services of Schuylkill, Carbon and Berks counties.

Tuesday, July 12, 2011

Volunteer firefighters with the Citizen's Fire Company in Tamaqua look over scorched debris following last week's blaze that claimed four homes and left 11 people temporarily displaced. Jason Hartz, Citizen's Fire Company Captain, spent time talking with fellow firefighters concerning many aspects involved with responding and fighting this type of fast-moving fire. Monetary donations for the fire victims can be mailed or dropped off at the Tamaqua Salvation Army, 105 West Broad St., Tamaqua PA 18252. Donators are asked to put "S. Lehigh St. Fire Victims" in the comment line.

Monday, July 11, 2011

A Schuylkill County motorcyclist was killed in a crash that occurred about 9:05 p.m. on Sunday.

State police at Schuylkill Haven identified the victim as Robert M. Reb, 51, of Pine Grove.

Troopers said Reb was operating a 2002 Yamaha Road Star westbound on SR895 near Grist Mill Rd., in Washington Township. While neogitating a curve the bike left the road and struck an embankment.