Franklin Township Volunteer Fire Company took the time on Saturday night to honor firefighters, fire police and QRS members for their dedication and service to the community.

Bruce Wolfe, fire chief, commended the firefighters for their service. He presented a 35 year service pin to Lynn Diehl and 15 year service pins to Justin Smith, Eric Lilly and Ken Kinard. Five year pins went to Adam Pretko and Deb Goodhile.

Wolfe also noted that Franklin Township Fire Co. adopted a point system that records the number of hours of service by giving firefighters one point for each hour of service. He then recognized Tyler Helmer as having 378 hours. Helmer is an Eagle Scout who, as his Eagle Scout project, installed a lighted sign at the fire company. Also recognized with having more than 300 points was Todd Hawk with 374 hours. Hawk works as a mechanic and is very active in maintaining the fire trucks. Also garnering a high number of points was Kevin Lilly with 245 points, despite having a broken leg. Also having 200 plus points was Lynn Diehl.

Wolfe said that he had the best firefighters around. "I'm not here to put down any other firefighters; I'm only commending mine."

"We have a great bunch of firefighters and they all work hard," he said. "We don't need any slackers."

Wolfe said fighting fires is hard work and he was proud that so many of the firefighters have taken courses.

"We have certifications that show we are good at what we do," said Wolfe. "We know how to do the job, but the certifications prove to everyone that we know what to do and do it well. They show up and they do the job"

Firefighters include: Bruce Wolfe, chief; Kevin Lilly, lieutenant; Lynn Diehl, assistant chief; Bob Mertz, Mark Goodhile, Todd Hawk, Ken Kinard, Eric Lilly, Justin Smith, Phil Nuccio, Chauncey Hearn, Tom Chew, Shawn Sheckler, Dave Keiser, Gene Crostley, Deb Goodhile, Adam Pretko, Bart Blakesley, Drew VanZee, Austin Crostley, John Venuto, John Gula, Travis Strohl, Tyler Helmer, Dale Ahner, Bryant Smith, Chris Hardy, Brooks Smith, Austin Lilly, Robert Miller and Clifford Colgan.

Also honored were Franklin Township Fire Police. Members are: Charles Loan, captain; Bobby Miller, Derick Solt, Francis Kresge, president; Frank Strouse, Kenneth Volkert, Raymond Moyer, Robert Henning, Russ Jeffries, B. Everett and Steve M. Everett, who also received his 15 year pin.

Bob Mertz. Q.R.S. chaplain (Quick Response Service), members are Bonnie Bergstresser, Rob Bergstresser, Bart Blakesley, Gene Crostley and Tom Chew. Rob and Bobbie Bergstresser both received 15 year pins.